Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    42yrs exp is offline Professional Member BM -bad email address
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    176
    I just installed an attic AC system. I said I would put a hard wired smoke alarm in the attic. It's not code in philadelphia to install one, but I promised the customer. The problem is there is not 115 VAC in the attic. I had the electrician run 230 volts for the air handler. Is there a 230v smoke alarm available. How much is it(approx)? I tried Home Depot and Lowes, but they do not sell 230 v smoke alarms. Maybe an electrical supply will have one?

    I would appreciate any help.

  2. #2
    Sounds like what you are trying to do is not allowed by national code.Are there any 115 volt circuits running through the attic?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    18,130
    You could use a step down transformer to power it. Not sure if its code though.
    To put the world in order, we must first put the nation in order; to put the nation in order, we must put the family in order; to put the family in order, we must cultivate our personal life; and to cultivate our personal life, we must first set our hearts right.
    -- Confucius

  4. #4
    The issue is overcurrent protection.

  5. #5

    smac?

    What if the transformer fails due to fire?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    My wife uses our smoke alarm to know when dinners ready,
    So anythings possible !
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  7. #7
    If the unit shuts down so does the smoke detector doesn't it? If the transformer that supplies power to the unit also supplies power to the smoke detector and the power is lost due to fire then smoke detector is disabled defeating the whole purpose of having it to begin with.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    All the hardired smoke detectors I have seen have a battery back-up. So what's the big deal when the power is lost.

    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  9. #9
    Then in that case the battery has to be changed anyway so why not just use a standard 9v. detector?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    8,059
    You should have had that hack electrician put a sub panel in the attic and then you could run a 115 volt circuit off its own breaker. This would also give you some attic lights and a receptacle so that the slob who has to go up in the attic to service and maintain the equipment could have some light without having to drag a cord and light up there and he would also have a place to plug up his vacuum cleaner or 115 volt h-10 if neccesary.

  11. #11

    corny

    I couldn't have said it better myself!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    18,130
    Originally posted by corny
    You should have had that hack electrician put a sub panel in the attic and then you could run a 115 volt circuit off its own breaker. This would also give you some attic lights and a receptacle so that the slob who has to go up in the attic to service and maintain the equipment could have some light without having to drag a cord and light up there and he would also have a place to plug up his vacuum cleaner or 115 volt h-10 if neccesary.

    Here in MI that is code. You must have an outlet and a light right by the unit also a walkway to it.
    To put the world in order, we must first put the nation in order; to put the nation in order, we must put the family in order; to put the family in order, we must cultivate our personal life; and to cultivate our personal life, we must first set our hearts right.
    -- Confucius

  13. #13
    Originally posted by smac
    Jeffkillen: Your first reply in your threads responce is, If your unit shuts down. Jeff that is the whole purpose of the smoke detector. So you shouldn't have to worry about anything else at that point. So your using the smoke detector for a unit shutdown feature instead of an alarm? This is the cheap version of a ductwork smoke detector.I'm not second guessing you but does an alarm sound when smoke is detected after power shutdown to alert the H.O.? It was my understanding that the point was to sound an alarm if there would happen to be a problem with the air handler itself,or fire in the attic.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event