Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    A tech I know uses a new set of gauges that can be used for 410 and r22.My question is can you use them from unit to unit without cleaning them out.I was wondering if oil residue from the different units would be enough to contaminate the units.I'm new to the field.I couldn't read the literature that came with the gauges because I didn't buy them, but I noticed he didn't either.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,921
    AS MR "T" USED TO SAY I PITY THE FOOL THAT DOES THAT. Don't do it is dangerous. The pressures are much higher with 410.
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Maybe I wasn't clear enough.These gauges are designed for use of both refrigerents.My question was did they have to be cleaned out when switching from one refrigerent to the other.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,921
    Don't know haven't seen them, but I would think so. Due too cross contamination of oils.
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    My r410a guages do have the 22 saturation temps on them also, but I keep them for 410a only, so as not to contaiminate 410 systems.

    Bad idea to use them for both.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    82
    Oil contamination with will the R410 compressor over time.
    Sounds like a compressor change out in the making.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,866
    I doubt you have to worry about a catastophre using one set of gages for 410 and 22.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    344

    410A and R22 gauges

    All I know is the 410A system uses POE and the R22 uses mineral oil. R22 is not compatible with POE and 410A is not compatible with mineral oil. For the cost of a set of gauges I don't know if it is worth the possible problems.

    So, no, I don't see the practicality of trying to use the same gauges.

    Buy a second set...http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/images/icons/icon12.gif

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,866

    Re: 410A and R22 gauges

    Originally posted by ruud-man
    All I know is the 410A system uses POE and the R22 uses mineral oil. R22 is not compatible with POE and 410A is not compatible with mineral oil. For the cost of a set of gauges I don't know if it is worth the possible problems.

    So, no, I don't see the practicality of trying to use the same gauges.

    Buy a second set...http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/images/icons/icon12.gif
    The amount of oil in your gages is not measurable enough to make difference. It would be like 1 drop of water(or less) in 40 gallons of gasoline. Just my opinion.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    I looked at a set of those, but I like to have better resolution on my compound gauge when I'm working on R-22 systems than the gauge had.

    If your manifold and hoses are getting enough oil built up in them to make cross contamination a real concern, you are doing something wrong in my opinion.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    Have you ever gone on a call, where some one has over charged a system by a couple of pounds. If so, when you removed the excess charge, you also pulled oil with it. How do you know you got enough of the oil out of yout manifold set, that you won't cross the oils when you go on a r410a call next.

    R22 is more forgiving with moisture then R410a, so youo could be adding moisture also.

    Why risk it.

    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,517
    how about the one time you forget to dump the hoses before you connect them to another system. that would be about 4 oz af refrigerant being put into the system
    wonder how 410a would react to that
    and it should not happen but we all know it does
    two sets are the best

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    293
    I have a set of those gauges and asked the same question. I showed em to a co worker and he bought a set. He being more experienced than i in the field I asked him if he swaps gauges between 22 and 410. He said he doesn't worry about it.

    What I've done is i have two sets of hoses that I swap back and forth. i work pretty much 70/30 between 22 and 410. The 22 being the majority. The gauges have a charging orifice that allows me to charge liquid on the lowside without slugging and it makes charging a system sooooo easy.

    http://www.stridetool.com/imperial/service.html

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event