Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Do many of you use a service such as McAfee for firewalls, spam and hack protection,etc.? Is it money worth spending?Is there another way? I am an apprentice in this field,still.
    Advice on photo software appreciated too.
    never say never

I never bothered when I was on dial up but on high speed I would highly reccomend it. I use Norton along with Adaware and Spybot. The last 2 are freeware and Norton is like $75 bucks a year.

Picassa has a pretty nice photo software that is also free.

I use McAfee for all three computors and have not had any problems with it, I had Nortons for a while but ran into problems with it and the high speed connection.

You can also go to http://www.pcworld.com/ to check for reviews on most software as well as download free programs for protection.
    Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat. (President Theodore Roosevelt)

Funny you say that about Norton btc. When I 1st started using it pictures sometimes wouldn't show up. But after a while it was just fine.

I tried that Firefox for a while and had nothing but problems.

Hmmm.. Iv'e had very few problems with FireFox, but then again, I come from a computer background. (This HVAC/R stuff is a whole new experience for me.)

I'm using Norton Antivirus, AdAware, SpyBot Dearch & Destroy and the new MS AntiSpyware. Seems to do the trick.
    "Punctuation and capitalization is the difference between: Helping your Uncle, Jack, off a horse. And: helping your uncle jack off a horse"
    ---
    If Mexicans will do the jobs Americans won't do, will they secure our borders?