I recently have been thinking about using high velocity on an install. There is a flush 25' long and 21" high laminate beam running in the center of the basement. It runs right up to the sub-floor. My wholesaler tells me to run 2 supply and 2 returns on each side of the beam. This sounds OK, but I am new to this HV stuff and don't want to screw it up..

Does anyone have any good or bad feedback from customers concerning HV?

ie ...windy...noisy etc.

Originally posted by hottubbrad
    There is a flush 25' long and 21" high laminate beam running in the center of the basement. It runs right up to the sub-floor.
    Does anyone have any good or bad feedback from customers concerning HV?

That first part didnt make any sense to me,but I am not there to look at it so I will take your word on that.

As for feedback,follow the manufacturers instructions and you should have happy customers.Deviate from instruction and you wont.

Instead of running the floor joists from one foundation wall to the other, the joists are basically cut in half with joist hangers on the beam in the center of the basement. The beam goes flush up to the plywood subfloor which means that you can't run the vent pipes over the beam.

One of the nicest things about hv systems is that is doesn't need return to pull air around for mixing or throw purposes. A given room will have a certain amount of heat gain, you add the number of supplies to that room to get your btu of cooling. It doesn't matter where you put them as fair as air mixture goes, the velocity will mix for you. Just locate them so they will not blow directly on occupants or you'll get complaints when uncle willies toupe blows off his head. As far as return goes, One central return located about anywhere is fine. Again the return is not for mixung purposes. I love high velocity, since it's your first one they should help you design it and size the number of supplies to each room etc.