Hello,
    I am a property manager for a 2 level office building (28,500 sq ft) in Calif. I have a tenant in a 4000 sq. ft top floor office connected to one thermostat and oneone 10 ton trane unit on the roof. The people on one side of the office are freezing while the others are hot and vice versa. I need to get them on at least two, preferably three different zones. There are three dampers and three thermostats in that office space, but everything is connected to one and no one knows if the others would work if hooked up, let alone communicate with one another.

Our HVAC technician has recommended we put the whole building on a computerized digital system, the Carrier CCN and begin with installing the zone sensors there first to start changing over the building little by little. Unfortunately, he's estimating that the whole 28,500 sq ft building that has app. 10 tenants total, would cost us $30,000 each floor at a total cost of $60,000!!! Eek... This is way out of our budget. So, for the time being, he said he'll put a "band aid" on this unit to make these people happy upstairs by using a residential Honeywell package (not compatible with any software) that would give that office three communicating zones at a total cost of $6400.00.

I would like to know if anyone knows of a cheaper "band aid" until we can do the whole building software package, or if there is a "band aid" like this Honeywell unit that has software compatibility, or if anyone knows a building software system that is less expensive and just as effective as the Carrier CCN?

Any advice would be much appreciated!
    Thank you!

[Edited by esotericam on 04-10-2005 at 01:30 PM]

Lonworks is a device level network. You can buy them one piece at a time and not have to throw anything away. Circon, Distech, Honeywell, etc... make controls that all work on this network. You can also later add lights and access control as well.