Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Roof Top Unit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3

    Roof Top Unit

    I am working on a York RTU, The relay in the circuit board chatters and causes the contactor for the blower to chatter. I replaced the circuit board thinking it was a bad relay in the board. Same problem, i switched out the transformer, same problem. Anyone have any ideas..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,228
    plenty...but would like to know more about you first.

    remember no DIY on this site

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3
    I live in Buffalo NY, I work at the largest GM Dealership in the north east. I have been doing residential and commercial repairs and installations now for over 13 years. I have my universal HVAC/R license. I used to own my own business, but the economy has made me seek other means of income. The unit I am refering to is approx 14 yrs old. I have made several repairs on these units, we have 7 of them, but this is the first time I have encountered this problem. I have jumped out the t-stat, replaced the transformer and the circuit board, I tried disconnecting the blower contactor and the lead that goes into the limit switch. I get a constant 26 volts but i dont know why the relay in the circuit board is chattering. Any help would be greatly apperciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    2,176
    Too many loads in series?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3
    It's all factory, I was thinking the transformer was week, I replaced it, Still has the problem. I have 5 other unit of this model all same year, all wired exactly the same. When I disconnected the blower contactor and the lead to the roll out switch, it would have corrected the problem if there were too many things in the series, Those are the only 2 things that run off of that relay.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,228
    ohm out the circuit something is not making full contact...you answered that yourself and have not notice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    N.Jersey
    Posts
    71
    Try putting blower delay timer from another unit in problem unit and thank me later.been there,done that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    151
    its the bord had the same problem the other day put a new bord in and cut the old relay apart it was all pitted its an issiue with york bords

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,223
    I work on these units frequently and have not seen this issue. It sounds as if you have a current drain or a high resistance somewhere.

    The board issue I see is people pressing too hard on the terminal strip and loosening the circuit traces on the back of the board.

    Get 15 posts and apply for pro membership.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    46
    i would start at the blower, make sure the motor/ cap is all ok, then i would look at the blower delay im assumig its a double stack, christmas tree timer, then inspect the wiring, another way is disconect the blower (load) and see if it still chatters

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    In a mechanical room....
    Posts
    1,888
    I have had that exact particular issue and 90% of the time was due to a bad contractor coil. The other 10% eh could be anything, bad limit, switch, t-stat or wire. wire rub, anything along those lines.

    -good luck, hope this helps

    Ps, Some patients, a good multi meter and a little luck along with your skills will get you to that AH HA moment.
    “It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.”

    - E.E. Cummings

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stumptown,USA
    Posts
    1,251
    Single phase or 3 phase? Start at the source! I can't tell you how many times a weird electrical problem turned out to be a charred fuse passing partial voltage or a wiring issue. Did you do a voltage test on all hot lines and compare that to another unit on the roof? Let us know what you find.
    Challenge yourself, take the CM test --- Certificate Member since 2004 ---Join RSES ---the HVAC/R training authority ---www.rses.org

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event