Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 66

Thread: LON Question

  1. #14
    ok without cheating an dlooking it up I'm going to shoot from the hip and say 255

    [Edited by fat eddy on 04-07-2005 at 08:43 PM]

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    ...LB - as long as your back.. I'd like a fix on the 1004 with JACK. Right now, I don't know JACK completely, but would like this corrected before I take the time to learn JACK, otherwise what I do know won't mean JACK.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    445
    Sys, how bout a link to your demo?

    iLON2000? I doubt it. But, you might see an e3 one of these days along with an enhanced iLON100/600 on steroids and viagra. Maybe it should be called an iLONZYTE?


    lb
    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    445
    OK, I'll try to reply to both posts.

    Ed, good guess. But, the answer is 'It depends'. Tell us what it depends on.


    Sys, I wish I could tell ya more, but then I'd have to shoot myself. I'd hope that the new stuff would be out by the end of the year.

    lb
    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    LB - before our new flash site goes up...

    email info @ com and I'll link you out.

    Emailed Alex today and "steve" Nyugen on it. I was hoping for some app space for "little" applications.

    BTW... channels in a subnet... tricks I say. (64?)

    255 subnets per domain
    127 (get real) nodes per subnet
    32,385 nodes per domain
    255 groups per domain





    [Edited by lusker on 04-09-2005 at 08:08 AM]

  6. #19
    The LON segment of this test is over, Sys needs to move on to different areas of the field now,

    Thanks for your help.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Originally posted by fat eddy
    The LON segment of this test is over, Sys needs to move on to different areas of the field now,

    Thanks for your help.
    Been years since I found a bigger dreamer than you. Amazing anyone hired you other than for entertainment value. Your a comedian in your spare time, right?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    445
    I take it, Ed, that because you don't know the answer, it is time to move on. But, let's close this trivia exercise. Actually your first answer of 255 is the maximum number of subnets on a channel however it depends on the media being used.
    A Subnet is a logical description of usually a single channel and can include up to 127 devices. But, you could have multiple subnets on a single channel if you had a bunch of physical layer repeaters for twisted pair media or if the media was powerline, fiberoptics, or something else that supported hundreds or thousands of devices on a single segment.

    BTW, you cannot assign the subnets - LNS does it for you!

    lb


    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Originally posted by lonboy
    Sys, how bout a link to your demo?

    iLON2000? I doubt it. But, you might see an e3 one of these days along with an enhanced iLON100/600 on steroids and viagra. Maybe it should be called an iLONZYTE?lb
    ... wait a minute... maybe we are talking the same thing. (somewhat) The 1000 is old news. I'm saying any "2000" should be based on the 100/600. I'd appreciate the email... Thanks.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    39
    Actually, LNS does allow you to specify a subnet if you want to (I don't think LonMaker exposes this functionality)

    LNS, by default, will assign a subnet automatically if you don't supply one.




  11. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    345
    Sysint...you may want to copy/give him that email string I posted the other day. Pay close attention to the second entry, the one that states BACnet isn't really interoperable. No names, but it was written by a BACnet testing engineer.

    nikko

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    LMA? ---- cmon guys... info X csisysint.cXm

    It's a LON invasion! (I mean well with that)

    [Edited by lusker on 04-09-2005 at 08:09 AM]

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    445
    Keys,
    I think you're referring to the Domain ID which can be manually defined or LonMaker can randomly create one - which LM does by default. Only LNS can hand out the subnet ID's (unless you hack into it with Nodutil). Plus, you wouldn't want to manually assign it as that would increase the probability of having duplicate subnet/node address' among control devices which could result in unpredictable control behavior. Like turning on the chiller and the boiler at the same time!

    Back to my post regarding subnets on a channel, I wanted to point out that bad things can happen by using a lot of PLR's (physical layer repeaters) to build large networks. PLR's repeat everything, even noise. Better to install a backbone and use LPR's (configured routers). Routers only forward valid packets and can also function as repeaters if needed.

    Awhile back, I talked to some maintenance guys from a large casino where the controls contractor installed 300 devices on one channel using PLR's. Response time and performance was ugly until the maintenance guys themselves replaced the PLR's with LPR's and showed the controls contractor the door. Now, they manage their control network themselves.

    lb


    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event