Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    365

    Thumbs down

    I've just installed 3 Goodman heat pumps, ranging from 1.5 tons to 2.5 tons. I've gotten 2 call backs today (Sunday) and the condensing units are not shutting off when the t-stat is statisfied. They won't even shut off when I turn the t-stat to the "OFF" position. I had to pull the disconnect to get them to shut off.

    My question is has anyone heard if there were a bad batch of condenser boards that got out into the real world? Or am I totally missing something?

    Thanks
    Sean
    Sean Cantrell

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    Probably installation error...
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    4,313
    Originally posted by sean88
    condenser boards
    What are those?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,911
    I would venture to speculate that you have a low voltage wiring problem.
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  5. #5
    not wired correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    108
    Sounds like the O circuit is energized some how.

  7. #7
    o circuit would energize the revrsing valve not energize the contactor.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    365
    I forgot to say the units were working properly during start up, they cycled on and off, went from cooling to heat, etc without a hitch. They were installed approx. 6 months ago.
    Sean Cantrell

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,911
    Are these both on the same job site?
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Multimeters are your friend.

    Did you check to see if the outdoor units had 24v to Y and or O when the thermostat off?

    Did you perform any other diagnostic work beyond turning off the thermostats?

    The units running after you turn the thermostats isn't enough diagnostic work, there are many things that could be causing your problem.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    cocoa fl
    Posts
    143
    sounds like you have the unit hard wired meaning it has been wired to run all the time. if you know even a little about troubleshooting you can find the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event