Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    112

    kw per ton w/vsd

    Ok formula guys, Question, to get kw per ton on a chiller with vsd. Tonnage no problem gpmXdelta p / 24 now for kw do i just use supply voltage and amp clamp on supply line or should i use the reduced volatge that the motor is running at and amp clamp on motor lead. Then is it kw/ton or ton/kw. I think I am confusing myself.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    LOL!!!!!!!!

    it is kw per ton!

    1 being bad

    .5 being good
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    funny!
    I always figured since it is 746 watts per horse power and usually 1 or 1.1 hp per ton .746 kw per ton would be the best you could do!
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    then volts x amps x 1.73 div by 1000
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,264
    you need to look at the line side of the drive and NOT the load side

    there will be an energy penalty when using the drive as it consumes some power no matter how much the chiller is using and you need to include that energy in your calculations
    my 1st time jumping out of a plane...http://youtu.be/Kv38G0MHsGo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    Jay,
    got any more good reading material links for me????????
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dixiana, AL
    Posts
    2,609
    Quote Originally Posted by 9675 View Post
    Tonnage no problem gpmXdelta p / 24
    GPM x delta T /24

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!
    T,P? same thing!!!!!!!!!!!







    Quote Originally Posted by klove View Post
    GPM x delta T /24
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    kind of neet kw per ton chart for turbocor

    http://www.turbocor.com/literature/p.../aircooled.pdf



    ----------
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,264
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    then volts x amps x 1.73 div by 1000
    don't forget to compensate for power factor...it should be close to 1.0...but it may not be!
    my 1st time jumping out of a plane...http://youtu.be/Kv38G0MHsGo

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    112
    opps yeah delta t, ok thanks for input, how do ad for power factor of 1.0

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,264
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    Jay,
    got any more good reading material links for me????????
    http://www.good-reading-material.com
    my 1st time jumping out of a plane...http://youtu.be/Kv38G0MHsGo

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,264
    Quote Originally Posted by 9675 View Post
    ...how do ad for power factor of 1.0
    you have to have a power factor meter to measure it.

    if you are just figuring things out for yourself, then just use 1.0

    if you are commissioning a unit or anything like that, you will need to measure more accurately.
    my 1st time jumping out of a plane...http://youtu.be/Kv38G0MHsGo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event