Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

York YP8C vs YPLC furnance

Hi everyone. I am a newbie here. My current furnace is 10 years old and I am getting bids on heat pump + 80% furnace configuration from a couple of installers in town. Both of them carry York products. Both bids have the same heat pump and coil, but on is YP8C 100K BTU and the other is YPLC 120K BTU and there is a big price gap between the bids.

I searched here on this forum and on the Internet but I can't find the differences between YP8C and YPLC. Does anyone know the differences between them? Thank you very much.

Quote Originally Posted by litster View Post
    Hi everyone. I am a newbie here. My current furnace is 10 years old and I am getting bids on heat pump + 80% furnace configuration from a couple of installers in town. Both of them carry York products. Both bids have the same heat pump and coil, but on is YP8C 100K BTU and the other is YPLC 120K BTU and there is a big price gap between the bids.

I searched here on this forum and on the Internet but I can't find the differences between YP8C and YPLC. Does anyone know the differences between them? Thank you very much.
    The YPLC is just the low-NOx (low nitrogen-oxide emissions) version of the YP8C. I believe the YP8C is out of production now but they are still making YPLC. They are both 80% furnaces, the same except for the additional emissions equipment on the YPLC.

You should really get a Manual J heat loss calculation to see what size you actually need. Something is wrong if one is proposing 100k and one is proposing 120k. And you should get a Manual J heat gain calculation to use for sizing your heat pump.