Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11
    I have spent the last eight years working for a unit manufacturer,and have recently started working for a controls service company. We have aquired a building with inet 2000 system, I cannot connect to the 7806 dial lan through my modem. If I go to facilities off site and connect using there connection everything works okay. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,206
    I am not a CSI/INET expert but I have worked on a few systems and I am wondering "If you are on site why are you trying to connect through a modem?" I've always used my serial cable to connect when on-site.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11
    We have picked up a monitoring contract for this site with a new controls option phase in. Our local CSI rep did not do them justice and asked us to help them. We have other CSI Sites that we can dial into but not this one, without being a partner docs are hard to come across. We believe that controls should be open. Equipment service is open and so should controls. Why should someone be stuck with a poor performing company just because they are the only ones who do those controls.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,206
    I Agree. That's why I like LonTalk so well. Email me.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,206
    by the way use *******@***.*** for the email.

    [Edited by crab master on 04-01-2005 at 04:25 PM]
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,206
    Boss,
    Sorry about the email address. I didn't read all of the rules, till now.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11
    I have learned that, the facility terminal is direct connected to a 78010 host link, which in turn is connected to a 7805 dial link which is then connected to a modem. The dial link is dialing to another modem. They have one site that they cannot connect to but I can directly from my modem. What is the differnce, dialing from a dial link then directly from a modem?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11
    Crab Master, I have MSN messenger. Addy is my user name at comcast.net.

  9. #9
    don't know CSI very well, but have a lot of experience (mostly frustrating) with modems. You probably have features on your PC modem that were designed for "high speed" dialup internet access, such as data compression, error correction, modem pausing, etc. If it is an older control system (10 years or so), these features will keep you from developing a reliable, or any, connection. Get out your modem documentation and find out how to disable these features. It usually has to be done by entering dial strings to the modem before dialing. Most dialup software allows you to enter these dial strings, and they are usually Hayes AT commands. On mine, we have to enter:
    AT&K0 (kills data compression)
    AT%C0 (kills error correction)

    After spending 40 hours monkeying with the dial strings, you will get it to work, then your modem will crash and the new one you buy will require different dial strings.

    Long Live TCP/IP and the internet!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event