Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post 2 stage furnace information

This is my first time posting to this forum, which I found while googling for information on furnaces. I have found some valuable information on these sites, but I still have some questions.

I moved into my house last February, so only used the original furnace 2 months or so. It was an 82,000 BTU Lennox furnace which was about 25 years old. When I went to start it this fall, it needed a new blower, and the electronic ignition was obsolete, so I needed to purchase a new furnace.

I chose the Bryant 95I Preferred variable speed 2 stage furnace, and had a Lux TX9000TS single stage thermostat installed with it.

In reading about multi stage vs single stage thermostats, I still am not sure which would be the best set-up. It seems people differ on which is best. Right now with the single stage thermostat I have, it appears the furnace is doing most of the decision making on when the furnace runs. I notice that the high speed runs more than the low speed (which I understood would only happen in the coldest of weather, which I took to mean in the low teens and below). I also notice the high speed sometimes runs well past the set point on the thermostat, sometimes to the point where it almost gets to hot in the house. The other thing I notice is that sometimes the furnace won't come on right away when the temperature shows 2 to 3 degrees below the set point, and thus it gets a little cold. Is there some kind of timing interval on the furnace to keep it from running again to soon, so it doesn't overheat (I think I read this somewhere)?