Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    20

    Stupid question about Trane Furnace

    I should know this but it has slipped my mind.. I am installing a TUD2B060A9V3
    with an XL20i unit. I thought I could use the TCONT900A Trane Communicating TSTAT but the wiring doesn't seem to match up.. Do I need an extra kit or am I having a brain fart?? lol thanks


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,342
    Is that a Communicating furnace? I'm thinking not.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,934
    It isn't so the 900 won't work. Use a Vision Pro IAQ or get the XC80.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    20
    Yeah we got the wrong furnace. I will use a Big Blue tomorrow. Thanks guys. Got them heating so they are happy lol..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, N.C.
    Posts
    961
    You'll need a 24v t-stat, if the Condenser is communicating you'll need a wiring harness kit available at TPC.
    Those who restrain desire do so because theirs is weak enough to be restrained. (William Blake)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    20
    I was told by a Trane Rep that you must use the TCONT900A for an XL20i system to qualify for the warranty. Surely there is a way around it if it's even true.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Trey. I thought there was something like that. I will check on it in the morning. Have a good one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, N.C.
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by joseph122578 View Post
    I was told by a Trane Rep that you must use the TCONT900A for an XL20i system to qualify for the warranty. Surely there is a way around it if it's even true.

    They never ask what control is being used when you file a Warrant request. Its all marketing.
    Those who restrain desire do so because theirs is weak enough to be restrained. (William Blake)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    20
    Figures.. Luckily I don't have to bother with the warranty stuff lol.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cleveland Area
    Posts
    30
    The only time you're ever going to use a TCONT900 it seemes is with a TUHM modulating / communicating furnace with an XL20i outdoor unit. Every other application requires the non-communicating wiring harness with an XL20i unit - Trane really didn't do themselves any favors with "communicating" systems at this point.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event