Train XL90 WIll not light
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE WI
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    Hi, I have a Train XL90. I have a White rogers ignighter. Model 50E47-060. The other night we woke up and the house was at 64 degrees. I went down to the furnace and found the white rogers box had a blinking light on it. I turned off the power and waited a minute. Then I turned the power back on and after three attempts the burns lit and stay on. Today I am having the same problem but the flame will not stay lit at all. I noticed that on the white rogers box is a tag that states "if the led stays on the unit needs to be replaced." The light in this case does not stay on but blinks. Does anybody have any ideas? I make sure that the exhaust is clear.

    Thanks in advance.

    Pat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    155

    Smile

    Time to make a call and have the unit serviced. A good sevice tech will be able to figure out what the blinking is all about.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE WI
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    Thanks for a reply... was hoping some one had a similar experience.

    Have a good day...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    the blink is telling you something is wrong call a service tech and let him find out and fix it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    155
    The blinking is putting out codes to tell a technician what is causing the problem. There are a lot of different things in a furnace that can cause the module to blink. A good sevice man can put the codes together with his meters and testing equiptment and figure out what is causing the problem with out changing a lot of unnecessary parts. Any of us would need to be in front of the furnace to tell you what is wrong.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,821
    That control doesn't flash codes. Steady on means bad control, blinking means OK. Gotta diagnose it the old fashioned way.

    If it lites and goes out, sounds like dirty flame sense rod. Wipe with clean (not soapy) steel wool.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE WI
    Posts
    3

    Cool

    BaldLoonie
    you were right!!! Thanks for the reply... Cleaned it up and it then worked like new.

    Thanks again..

    Pat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,821
    Always good to hear from a satisfied "customer".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3

    flame rod

    you better replace the flame rod. just cleaning it will work, but it will get dirty quicker next time. the scraping of the steel wool or sandpaper will score the rod and soot and dirt will stick easier. save a call back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event