heat n glo supreme 130 problems
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    heat n glo supreme 130 problems

    Had this installed in November of 2010 and it has had problems igniting and staying lit. When you turn on the fireplace with the remote, the pilot will light and sometimes the fire turns on slowly then shuts down. If you try to reignite it, it won't and you see red and green flashing lights. We turn the power off and on then the fireplace will start and run fine. Representatives from the manufacturer were out and supposedly repaired whatever was wrong, but as soon as cold weather comes it does the same thing again. Now it doesn't have to be cold and we have to keep turning the power switch off and on. Also, there is alot of cold air that comes out of the insert when the fireplace is not on, is this normal?

    We had it serviced by the installing company and it turns out we weren't the only ones having trouble with the Superme 130, that is when reps came out and did something that was supposed to solve it but it didn't.

    Anyone else have this problem? Could it be a venting problem with all the cold air? We would really like to use it as supplemental heat but that's not happening.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    Where are you located?

    What does it currently do, be detailed.

    Do you know how it is vented? Did they run a full liner for the intake or just a stubby liner? The exhaust should always be a full liner.

    Your problems sounds like some we have also had. If the pilot lights but the burner never lights, the pilot sensor needs to be cleaned usually, if that does not resolve it then there is a new style pilot that can be installed (you might have this already). If the burner lights but then lifts off the burner and goes out this usually points to a venting problem. We have taken a few units and removed the full length intake liner and put on a stubby. This has fixed two units so far, all the rest we installed seem to be working fine with the full liner.

    As for the cold air, are you certain your glass is clipped on? Besides that I would need to know if your old wood fireplace was a brick and mortar (or thick steel heatform) masonry fireplace or a metal prefab fireplace with removable refractory panels.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    will it work ok when you turn it on by using the switch on the module?because if you are using that rc300 remote that could be the problem,we have had to switch people over to the rc 200 also leave the pilot on they seem to work fine with pilot on,now this is on a sister brand of heatnglo not the supreme i30,any problems we have had is centered around that remote,people pushing the buttons multiple times trying to get the unit to light seems to make the unit go into lock out,can you turn your pilot on with the remote,can you adjust the flame with your remote,or can you just turn it on and off.we had three remotes come back last week and along with the three we had in stock,not one would work properly on my test unit,would turn the unit on sometimes,could never get them to adjust flame height,1 of the six remotes would turn the pilot light on but only sometimes,pulled the 4 rc200 remotes we had in stock all worked great,maybe try running it by just using the switch on the side of the unit or on the control mod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    will it work ok when you turn it on by using the switch on the module?because if you are using that rc300 remote that could be the problem,we have had to switch people over to the rc 200 also leave the pilot on they seem to work fine with pilot on,now this is on a sister brand of heatnglo not the supreme i30,any problems we have had is centered around that remote,people pushing the buttons multiple times trying to get the unit to light seems to make the unit go into lock out,can you turn your pilot on with the remote,can you adjust the flame with your remote,or can you just turn it on and off.we had three remotes come back last week and along with the three we had in stock,not one would work properly on my test unit,would turn the unit on sometimes,could never get them to adjust flame height,1 of the six remotes would turn the pilot light on but only sometimes,pulled the 4 rc200 remotes we had in stock all worked great,maybe try running it by just using the switch on the side of the unit or on the control mod

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1
    Help! I too am having problems with this unit. Dealer has already replace the ignition unit and recommended we leave the pilot on and for a few days it was ok. Now I have the same problem, the unit lights then I hear another beep and it shuts down. Then, on it's own, it starts the process all over again. Supposedly the ignitor was still sparking causing the shutdown. I can clearly tell it doesn't continue to spark, the unit lights, we hear another beep from the module and it goes out. Any suggestions for fix would be greatly appreciated. I'm not confident my dealer, or heat and glo for that matter, knows what's going on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by jtp10181 View Post
    Where are you located?

    What does it currently do, be detailed.

    Do you know how it is vented? Did they run a full liner for the intake or just a stubby liner? The exhaust should always be a full liner.

    Your problems sounds like some we have also had. If the pilot lights but the burner never lights, the pilot sensor needs to be cleaned usually, if that does not resolve it then there is a new style pilot that can be installed (you might have this already). If the burner lights but then lifts off the burner and goes out this usually points to a venting problem. We have taken a few units and removed the full length intake liner and put on a stubby. This has fixed two units so far, all the rest we installed seem to be working fine with the full liner.
    As for the cold air, are you certain your glass is clipped on? Besides that I would need to know if your old wood fireplace was a brick and mortar (or thick steel heatform) masonry fireplace or a metal prefab fireplace with removable refractory panels.
    I am located in the Seattle area and basically it will light, burner comes on for a minute then shuts down then red and green lights flash until we turn the power off and on, now the fan doesn't even work. We woke up this morning and nothing works. The supplier came out yesterday and is going to replace some type of control module--we'll see if that works. We do have a 30' chimney that has the full length liner and the old fireplace was a metal prefab that we put a gas lot set in and now switched to the Heat n Glo.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    If it runs and then shuts down shortly after starting it might be a venting issue. Any pro should be able to determine this by watching the flame patterns and pilot as it shuts down. They might need to remove the full intake liner and switch it to a 4ft stubby intake. The exhaust liner should always be full length.

    The cold air is probably leaking through the walls behind the prefab unit, or old air intake vents. Only way it should be leaking through the new fireplace is if the glass is not secured, or they did not put insulation around the liner in the damper area.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event