Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    5
    Hi all. Newbie here so please bear with me. A little background prior to the post. I am very mechanically inclined-rebuild engines, can follow schematics understand relays, circuits and the like.

    My Aunt just moved here from Seattle. Her new house has two Amana 90 gas furnaces. I am guessing them to be 5 years old or less. She calls me two night ago stating that she cannot get heat from X vents. The house is divided not by floors but by sections in terms of circulation. So, I check the furnace designated to that side of the house and sure enough, nothing i.e. no flame. The other Amana is firing perfectly.

    So, I did notice that the LED light was giving the one flash Lockout code. So, I cycled the T stat down for a bit and then asked her to cycle it up while I was watching the unit. The electric pilot came on, induction motor came on but no ignition.

    Unit was running fine prior to that i.e. in normal use on a day to day basis.

    Thoughts?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,896
    replace the control board
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  3. #3
    no voltage to ignitor, bad ignitor, bad control board, gas valve bad, no voltage to gas valve, limit open. pick one

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Dothan, Al
    Posts
    3,453
    The unit must verify that the inducer is on, if not the main won't come on.
    The inducer has to prove that it is on.
    Need a serviceman as different makes use different inducer sensors

    [Edited by bornriding on 03-16-2005 at 05:37 PM]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,896
    Replace the control board
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    emerald city, sc
    Posts
    1,469
    Originally posted by twilli3967
    Replace the control board
    and you came to that conclusion, how ?
    i wanted to put a picture here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Usually the pressure switch must close for the hsi to be energized.

    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the suggestions. What are the ways, if any, to test the components that are listed in this post? Why would the control board be defective only after 5 years?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    Originally posted by jukelemon
    Thanks for the suggestions. What are the ways, if any, to test the components that are listed in this post? Why would the control board be defective only after 5 years?
    bacause the warranty is up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    7
    check to see if the valve is getting the 23 volts, if not, trace it down, something is not letting the valve open. I beleive if the pressure switch from the vent fan is not operating the Electronic ignitor will not fire. sounds like to me the valve is not getting 24v. therefore not opening. Could be valve, rollout switch,etc. if all that is good, change the board. my advice, Call a serviceman.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,896
    Replace control board
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,182
    Originally posted by twilli3967
    Replace control board

    As you can see there is good advice and also bad advice around here. This is the bad advice!

    The furnace needs someone to check it out and properly determine the problem without just changing parts till its fixed. Just because the furnace is only 5 years old doesn't mean things can't fail. If there is indeed a failed part it needs to be discovered by troubleshooting.



  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    5
    Understood. I am assuming that only a serviceman has the specs to checkout voltages/valve operation and the like? Is there no simple way/non serviceman way to check ANY of these components so a narrowing down process can occur?

    Thanks for your help. Keep it coming ( :

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event