Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 41
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    peoples republic of maryland
    Posts
    958

    Talking

    "I have hired pro contractors to do the job, but after three different contractors, the latest solution suggested is to replace the furnace"


    That's because ruud's are disposable.
    "The meek shall inherit the earth"
    "he that's walking with wise persons will become wise, but he that is having dealings with the stupid ones will fare badly" Proverbs 13:20
    "Pressure is something people feel when they don't know what their doing". Peyton Manning-superbowl MVP

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    It could be as simple as improper grounding, has anyone checked that?

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,911

    Hmm

    It's the transformer, not enough VA because it has gotten weak.....I do like the millivolt thermostat that way it should work if they don't have power .
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    operator
    about my post
    an other page hehehehe. look for a nate cirtified co with a nate heat tech.
    on an earlier post i said i felt nate was not what it is said to be even though i am beening told by lenox i have to be nate cart. i dont feel i need nate to tell me i know how to work on units i have been working on for 32 years
    did not mean to infur any thing or put anyone down at all
    hehehe was just about ignoring my thinking and tring to help someone. glad you dont have to deal with nate yet

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    I have worked on Rheem units like this and found on several occasions that the manual reset rollout switches had become weak after several years service and will break and remake on their own, there are three of these located on the burner manifold, it is difficult to catch them in the failed condition because they reset before you can get a meter on them. They are only $5.00 each and that it cheap compaired to what you have already spent.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Manual resets, resetting automaticly? If a rollout is weak its because they have been subject to some level of thermal stress and therefore there is real poroblem that needs addressed and replacing the switch, in and of itself does not solve anything.

    As far as calling the factory, dont. They are not going to sit on the other end of the line and guess at a bunch of unkowns. They will require answers to specific questions that will determine the problem such as "what is the vent pressure?", "What is the flame signal", "what is the actual voltage between X and Y" and a litany of others in an effort to properly troubleshoot it. Then when they find out it has been running on a millivolt thermostat, another mfg's ignitor, a gas valve off the shelf and a module that should have been updated with a remote flame signal the first time, they really cant tell you what you got, nor should they. All these things should be looked at and recorded then anyone with any mechanical ability will see the problem. Since we dont have any of that, we arent going to know the issue such Norm said.

    If your local dealer cant find the problem the HE needs to contact the local distributor for some help who will in turn call the factory guy if he cant figure it out who will insist on answers to the same questions.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by docholiday
    [B]Manual resets, resetting automaticly? If a rollout is weak its because they have been subject to some level of thermal stress and therefore there is real poroblem that needs addressed and replacing the switch, in and of itself does not solve anything.
    As a matter of fact after 15 yrs of service these swiches do surcome to normal operating temperatures, and yes they do reset themselves. just because you have never run across this what makes you qualified to say that it does not happen? These switches are the small mini disc and are positioned extremely close to the flame. This is even more common when the furnace is installed in the vertical position.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    7
    Millivolt ? I'd change that reguardless. Next I'd check to see the light on the board. There could be a problem with the board but if you have changed it more than once with the same problem there is something causing it to do this obviously. My advice is to call another contractor. Bigger doesn't always mean better, and smaller doesn't always mean better service LOL . Keep calling till you find a good one and remember the company when you need to call someone again. You can call a local supply house and they can recommend someone to you.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    441
    I always get a kick out of how we are supposed to fix things over the phone or the computer. Thanks for the laugh!

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Bulldog, those switches arent supposed to be subject to the constant heat, if they are, then there is a draft or overfiring issue. Parts fail when they are stressed. Yeah at that point the switch needs replaced but rest assured it will fail the next one too if the real problem isnt resolved.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40
    Hamish
    Obviously,the furnace has been working for some 14 years.My question is, what prompt the service call to change out the Nordyne HIS 903758 on 3/31/04?? I am assuming that everthing was working up to that date. I, not being familiar with Ruud, would like to know what is an HIS903758. I feel that you need to look at the whole picture. Like where is the furnace located. Had there been any other type of work in or around the area that the furnace is occupying. I have had several service calls that came about because of other trades. For example, handymen putting down plywood decking in an attic that cut through a thermostat wire with a nail gun. It shorted W1 and Y to R this caused the electric heat strips and the condensing unit to provide heat and cool at the same time. I had checked the T-stat and all of the sequencers first. I then disconnected W1 and the cool would continune.I would then disconnect Y and the heat would continue. I had checked all of the components and everything was in good shape, but it was not working as designed. I Found out this problem by asking the homeowner, had their been anyone else around working on or near the unit? My question is, has any electrical wiring been done or work been preformed at or around that time when the HIS 903758 was replaced? If you care to dicuss this more in detail you can contact me a drirudie@aol.com

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    956
    Originally posted by tinknocker service tech
    operator
    did not mean to infur any thing or put anyone down at all
    hehehe was just about ignoring my thinking and tring to help someone. glad you dont have to deal with nate yet
    no one offended, just didnt want her calling around trying to find someone with nate, that would be a long search

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    I suppose she could go th the NATE website http://www.natex.org/natex/consumer1.asp and plug in her zip code to see if she gets any results rather than call around.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event