Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31

    Trane coil question

    Hi all. Recent lurker, first time poster, and HVAC novice.

    I'm having a Trane system installed this week and have a question about the proper matching coil for the system.

    5 ton Trane XR13
    Trane XR95 furnace (TDH1D110A9601A)
    Coil - to be Trane or third party.

    My contractor told me Trane delivers one of 3 matched evaporator coils - a Trane or one of two third party coils. I told the contractor I wanted a Trane coil and he said "Trane would probably supply a Trane coil." The only thing that makes sense to me is that Trane would recommend using a Trane coil with a Trane furnace and A/C. More than a few people have told me not to go the third party coil route unless absolutely necessary. Do you all agree?

    If you agree I'll call the contractor tomorrow morning to tell him that if he's not going to install a matching Trane coil then not to send his crew out Wednesday morning when I scheduled the install.

    I don't think I want a third party coil but wanted to ask the experts here if you've ever heard of such a thing before? Sounds to me like the contractor just wants to make some extra margin on the coil.

    Lastly, can one of you with the proper knowledge list the model number of the coil that best matches with the 5-ton XR13 and XR95 furnace I listed above? Would really appreciate it.

    Thanks very much for the help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,768
    Trane or American Standard. If they sell you anything else ask to see, in writing, the ARI reference match #. All of the matched coils will be tested and referenced by the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute. They are given ratings of efficiency with the outdoor unit matching the indoor coil.
    There is a reason why coils are matched. Yes, it may work, but it may not work as designed.
    Your contractor should be capable of matching the coil properly. There are different sizes and dimensions etc, that I would not know without actually seeing the application. As long as the coil fits the ducting, is the proper capacity, and a match for the outdoor unit (i.e. Trane), you should be ok.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,042
    That, and make sure the warranty on the indoor coil will be the same as a trane coil.

    That must be a tight spot for the coil, if their going with 3rd party.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for the responses. I played around on the AHRI site and did an AC search in an effort to find matching coil model numbers but it keeps coming back with zero results. I guess I'm leaving too many lines blank/unchanged for it to kick out matches.

    The furnace will be in the attic and the location does have to be moved from the current location BUT there will be plenty of room for the coil in the new location. Don't know why they would go third party unless it's it's to save money....?

    Any help with a matching Trane coil model number would be greatly appreciated. I want to have as much info as possible when I call tomorrow.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,160
    4TXCD061

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks, much appreciated.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Had the install last week and you won't believe what the Trane Comfort Specialist did. They installed the wrong furnace! Unlike what I wrote in post #1 the contracted furnace was to be the TUH1D100A9601 (100k btu). They installed the TUH1D120A9601A (120k btu) furnace. It's no wonder this flame thrower heats the house so fast! They're not going to be very happy when they get a call from me requesting the correct furnace tomorrow morning. Not looking forward to this one...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    122
    Trane uses 3rd party coils to meet the standards required for the tax rebates. They were using aspen coils but are working on getting their own to meet gov. standards for the rebates.

    as for the furnace being oversized..did they size it for a 100k and put in the wrong one? Or did it size out to a 120 and they just charged you for a 100?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    A matching Trane coil was installed 4TXCD061. I wonder if the coil that works with the 100k furnace they should have installed? No, 100k is still oversized (shocker) but we needed the 5 ton blower for the 5 ton XR13 condenser. I don't want the 120k furnace. It's like a flame thrower. Just hoping the installer cooperates on the removal and replacement with the proper size.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Burlington , Mass
    Posts
    470
    Did the contractor do a heat loss/gain calculation ?
    I'll be there when I get there and not a minute later

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by BURL-REF View Post
    Did the contractor do a heat loss/gain calculation ?
    No. None of the three Trane or Rheem contractors did a load calc. I regret not having time (12/31 tax credit deadline) to demand this.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    122
    if 100k is oversized then 120K is deffinately oversized, especially with a single stage furnace.
    If you agreed on a 100 and have it in writing I see no reason why they wouldn't have to change it out.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by ThirdCoastAC View Post
    if 100k is oversized then 120K is deffinately oversized, especially with a single stage furnace.
    If you agreed on a 100 and have it in writing I see no reason why they wouldn't have to change it out.
    Written clear as day on the contract and on the city permit.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event