Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3

    Confused

    After a major remodeling project, I had my air ducts cleaned and a furnace check-up. Nothing reported wrong. Since then, the furnace has failed to fire three times (over two months). I flip the power switch to reset and it fires right up. I had the HVAC firm that did the cleaning and check-up come out the last time it happened, without resetting the unit, and they could not find the cause, stating "since the furnace does not have a diagnostic system, I can't find the reason that it won't fire". This concerns me that a certified technician can't fix a furnace because the furnace can't self diagnose itself. He recommended a new furnace. All of these discussions were with my wife.

    The furnace has worked fine for the 6 years we have lived in the house, and it only started acting up after the "cleaning and check-up". Furnace is 14 years old and we believe it had the inductor??replaced in 1995.

    Any suggestions on root cause?
    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    240
    Find a service company, not a duct cleaning company. There could be any number of things wrong with it. A decent service company should be able to figure it out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,584
    Bryant 398A does have light for service and the fault codes are inside the door on bottom..

    Most likely door switch if furnace has been working ok..
    "Everyday above ground, is a good day".
    "But everyday that you have made a difference in someones life, may insure you stay above ground a little longer".<aircooled>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    The company is an HVAC service company that does duct cleaning, not a duct cleaning company. Thanks for no input.

    This model does not have dianostic lights and there is no door switch.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    The company is an HVAC service company that does duct cleaning, not a duct cleaning company. Thanks for no input.

    This model does not have dianostic lights and there is no door switch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    875
    Originally posted by jimmo
    The company is an HVAC service company that does duct cleaning, not a duct cleaning company. Thanks for no input.

    This model does not have dianostic lights and there is no door switch.
    Wow Jimbo, if I were a betting man I'd say you just guaranteed yourself a whole lotta silence from anybody here who might have helped you...

    FYI, depending on date of manufacture this furnace could have had diagnostics, and it did certainly have a door switch when it was manufactured. The suggestion to get a furnace repair company was also a good one as whomever you had clean your ducts hasn't got clue one on how to fix it... LMAO when I read they couldn't fix it because it had no little blinky light! Good luck, I suspect you'll be needing it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    39
    Actually Noob

    I'd be happy to help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,024
    Originally posted by hoffa
    Actually Noob

    I'd be happy to help
    Well

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,024
    Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,silence,Silence, silence, silence, silence, silence,silence,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    191

    Talking JIMBO

    JIMBO, You must be one cool cat.To come back with a response like that!!! But really all kidding aside.If you you use a good quality sledge hammer. I'm sure you will find the reminince of the door switch in there somewhere.Or SAY.A better idea:} maybe you might be better off going back for that refresher course in anger management!!!!
    THen maybe not.No.... NO. I got it a good quality computer course than you would know that your response was kinda like a that of a computer.YOU know........sh!!!t in sh!!!!t out.Better off with no INPUT!!!!Because your output SUCKS!!!
    41GASMAN






  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    39
    I'd be happy to help

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    875
    Originally posted by hoffa
    I'd be happy to help
    So, spit it out man... what's the problem with his unit?

    Oh, I see, you're waiting for Jimbo to say "pretty please"...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    39
    The first step, in my step by step trouble shooting, is to have the customer aks any potential Professional HVAC techs in the Boston area sign a legal release saying they do not go by the alias Control_noob or on any HVAC internet forums.

    If they do go by that alia, be sure and ask if the attitude and verbal abuse is extra or comes free with the service.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image