Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Outdoor Sensor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45

    Outdoor Sensor

    I have a Lennox system that was installed two years ago that has never seemed to be function as it should. The system consists of a heat pump with propane back up, but the propane runs 90% of the time even when temps are in the mid 50's. I suspect the outdoor sensor to be the problem, but am curious as to whether anyone has experienced similar difficulty.

    Overall, I am happy with the Lennox quality, but seems like they totally blew it on the outdoor sensor. It is often inaccurate in excess of 30 degrees, so there is no way it is capable of detecting when the HP or propane should be running. I have disabled the outdoor sensor presently and it is much better and the HP has been doing a fine job of satisfying the stat.

    Has Lennox improved on the outdoor sensor?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,162
    If it never seemed to function as it should, did you call the installing co. and have them diagnose the problem?

    Have not noticed any pattern of failure on their sensors.

    Could be the sensor, connections, wiring, stat, location, etc...........

    Too many possibilities to try and diagnose it from a computer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45
    Installer is clueless. I had to show him that I could get the HP to kick on. He automatically assumes it is a bad stat. He has replaced the stat on our upstairs unit at least 3X's when I know that something is causing the stat to fail. They are not all bad out of the box.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,162
    Time to call a different contractor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Is the outdoor sensor mounted on the North side of the house, or elsewhere.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,919
    The outdoor sensor wire needs to be run in a separate cable from the thermostat cable or it will not read right all the time.
    Remember, Air Conditioning begins with AIR.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,805
    location. It's probably above the outdoor unit.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    474
    Where is the sensor, exactly?
    ENJOY THE RIDE

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    22
    You might want to listen to Chuck and find you a different contractor. Sounds like you know about as much or more than the tech that has been servicing your system. It probably has something to do with the location of the sensor, as others have noted.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event