Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    31
    The installer of my replacement system was chosen because of his more thorough inspection of the house. However one thing surprised me. He says he will hang the atic air handler from the rafters rather than setting it on the attic floor. I understand that this would be good practice to keep insulation from clogging up the condensate drains but is the first time I heard of this. Do you "go to guys" have any comments one way or another? I would appreciate any input.
    Al

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,484
    Noise transmission, create more room for proper ductwork, proper condensate drain line pitch and many other possible reasons. Keep in mind that there are thousands of commercial airhandlers installed in the same fashion. Sounds like you have found a professional who is willing to go through the extra time and expense to hang a unit instead of just setting it down on the rafters.

  3. #3
    I agree with the previous entry. All of my installations are hung, not set on the floor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    31
    Originally posted by james mo
    Noise transmission, create more room for proper ductwork, proper condensate drain line pitch and many other possible reasons. Keep in mind that there are thousands of commercial airhandlers installed in the same fashion. Sounds like you have found a professional who is willing to go through the extra time and expense to hang a unit instead of just setting it down on the rafters.
    Wow, wish all my questions were answered so quickly. Thank you both.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    406
    The first time you heard of it. Where have you been man! Now I'm going to have to charge more for Quality.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    It required by Code in Florida.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Naples, Fla.
    Posts
    1,403
    Dash - I know it's desirable & professional, but are you sure it's REQUIRED by code? (code # _____ )

    Many attics don't have room to build a trapize. We routinely install air handlers in tight attics useing 4X4" styrofoam full length supports (yes in the drain pan) to allow for vibration / evaporation / duct alignment / drain connections.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    I don't have the section number,but I know in the areas we work in,it's required.They reason is Trusses,are not designed to support the weight on the bottom chord,unless engineered to do so,and we have one builder that does just that.

    I try and check the section#,but I'm leaving in the AM for a week.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    175
    Guys,

    Where is the drain pain set in relationship to the hung airhandler?


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    It's under the air handler,straped to the supports that of the air handler.This helps in providing enough pitch to drain ,as it's off the bottom chord.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,722
    We rarely hang the A/H in attics, unless specified by H/O or the boss. I do NOT set the unit on the rafters. I build a platform to set the unit on and have enough room for the pitch of the drains. Setting an A/H directly on the floor or rafters is a bad idea. There is no way the drain pan would drain properly, not to mention the primary drain. If I see this on a change out, a platform will be built.

    When I do hang an A/H, the drain pan is hung with it, using all thread and uni-strut.
    Get back to work.

  12. #12
    I wish I wish I had found this Board before I built my house...

    Money was not a major factor as the total cost of the house the HVAC was a small %. But the HVAC contractors were tipical southern Hick Rednecks with a License. but still doing farm type slap dash installs.

    My house cost over $300,000 and I have 3 heat pump units. The entire install is cheep (not low cost) and below most of the standards talked about on this Board :-(

    Oh well you Live and learn..


    AB

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,841
    Originally posted by andrew boyce
    I wish I wish I had found this Board before I built my house...

    Money was not a major factor as the total cost of the house the HVAC was a small %. But the HVAC contractors were tipical southern Hick Rednecks with a License. but still doing farm type slap dash installs.

    My house cost over $300,000 and I have 3 heat pump units. The entire install is cheep (not low cost) and below most of the standards talked about on this Board :-(

    Oh well you Live and learn..


    AB

    Dash isn't going to like that but it was funny.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event