Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    No, not THAT first time.
    When was the first time you saw something in this trade that made you say, "Woah... That is amazing! I want to work on stuff like this!"

It just happwened to me yesterday. I had the privledge of working with one of the journeymen in our company at a store with a central plant. I was in awe standing in a room where an evaporator coil made up one wall and a 12' tall blower assembly.

Eh, maybe I'm just strange, maybe simple things amuse me, or maybe just a bit of both.
    "Punctuation and capitalization is the difference between: Helping your Uncle, Jack, off a horse. And: helping your uncle jack off a horse"
    ---
    If Mexicans will do the jobs Americans won't do, will they secure our borders?

when i was a lowly apprentice, we did a lot of retrofit work. boiler changeouts chiller changeouts etc. then one day we were told that there was a big job coming up. keep in mind that most of the chillers we replaced were between 750 and 1200 tons. well, one day we were sent to the "big job" and it turned out to be three 2800 ton chillers that needed to be piped. the machines were sitting in a building with nothing else started yet. that job was probably the most fun ive had and that was in the late eighties.

On one of my very first days in the trade.I was leaning up against the door to an 1,250,000 cfm air handler (didn't know) and asked the senior tech that I was with where the air handler was and he said you are leaning against it.

I almost **** my pants.

At a chemical plant

In southeast Texas!! Worked on two 1000 ton centrifugals that used propane for refrigerant and used 24,000 volt power source.

Holly ****! Propane for refrigerant? Wow that is interesting.

What would happen if an evaperator got a leak? Hope no one is smoking if a valve seal lets go... HEHEHE

a Thermotron box at Grumman Corp drop down to -275F and the EB WELD when they welded up the nose cones for the MX Missles in a vacuum.