Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    67

    Question

    How much static pressure change should be allowed before a media filter is replaced?


    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    406
    Check your blood pressure. When that gets to high your static pressure is probably to high. Let me Know what your doctor says.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    .05 to .1,however you need to stay within the limits of total ESP that the fan can deliver the air flow required.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    15
    Dash - (I am just a non-techy homeowner with a 58mvp and infinity stat). After reading the above post, out of curiosity, I checked the static pressure that is displayed in one of the infinity stat menus and noticed a much higher number. On High (heat), it shows approx 0.79 and on low (heat) it shows approx 0.40. I thought this was within the normal range, until I read your reply above. In it you mentioned that it should be between 0.05 and 0.10. Is the static pressure measurement than I am seeing in my infinity stat a different measurement from the static pressure you were describing? Thanks for any information.

    ps. (If we are talking about two different measurements, can you tell me if a 0.40 to 0.79 range in the infinity display is within "normal"). Thanks again!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Originally posted by canquest
    Dash - (I am just a non-techy homeowner with a 58mvp and infinity stat). After reading the above post, out of curiosity, I checked the static pressure that is displayed in one of the infinity stat menus and noticed a much higher number. On High (heat), it shows approx 0.79 and on low (heat) it shows approx 0.40. I thought this was within the normal range, until I read your reply above. In it you mentioned that it should be between 0.05 and 0.10. Is the static pressure measurement than I am seeing in my infinity stat a different measurement from the static pressure you were describing? Thanks for any information.

    ps. (If we are talking about two different measurements, can you tell me if a 0.40 to 0.79 range in the infinity display is within "normal"). Thanks again!
    It's different numbers,the above refers to the increase in Pressure Drop accross the filter only.On Infinity you could use the ESP ,which you quoted(starting with a clean filter),"plus" the above as time to change.Of course Infinity already does that for you.


    The .79 on high is likely okay,can depend on model and cfms required,most are fine at .8 or .9 or less.Recheck when the air is on ,as well.If you post the model numbers,someone can likely say for sure.


    If you rework the ducts and lower the number,it will save some on the operating cost of the fan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    67
    Thanks dash!
    I just wanted to be able to check that my Infinity system was working properly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    248
    mfb,

    Also, be aware that the filter Percent Used readout can be quite erratic. Mine has shown 0% for the last couple of days. It was reading around 40%. The filter has been in for about 6 months and I haven't touched anything to do with the furnace. This feature doesn't seem to work well.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    67
    My readings have been very steady.
    I started at 0%.
    Went to 50% when I finished sealing the ducts I could reach.
    And has slowly risen to 90% now after 6 weeks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    15
    Is there a "filter Percent Used readout" on the carrier infinity stat? If so, how can I see it? I have only seen the message that occasionally appears telling me it's time to clean/replace the media, but I don't think I have seen a "percentage used" number. Thanks for your help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    67
    Click and hold the left side middle button.
    That will get you to the screen that has the Filter and Humidifier pad percentages.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    15
    When and how does the infinity control (or the 58mvp furnace) establish the baseline for the "Filter Used Percentage"? I think I read that at 1:00PM each day, the infinity control checks the static pressure, and I assume at that time, calculates the "Filter Used Percentage" mentioned above. But when and how does it establish a baseline to compare against?

    Is there one baseline established for the furnace? If so, then how does it take into account any unique ducting configurations in a home? Wouldn’t it be possible, if this was the case, to always indicate 100% filter used, even if the filter was absolutely clean?.

    On the other hand, if a baseline is established when you do a "Reset the Filter Used Percentage" on the infinity control, then couldn’t the baseline potentially change (especially if you don't actually clean the filter, but only reset the infinity control)?

    Thanks for any information you can provide.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    The "baseline' is reestablished when you "reset"/change the filter.

    Yes you can fool it,but with a dirty filter,the baseline will be higher,and it will "call" for changing sooner.Eventually the static will be beyond the limits,and you'll get an error notice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event