Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
    I'm new to the field and have about 8 months eperience and 2 weeks trade school. I've been offered a job as a start up man for a local ac company. he says they are very large homes, 4 - 5 units per home. what all do start ups consist of? are there any kind of check lists or anything of that sort? Thanks

Originally posted by pdavis6061980
    I'm new to the field and have about 8 months eperience and 2 weeks trade school. I've been offered a job as a start up man for a local ac company. he says they are very large homes, 4 - 5 units per home. what all do start ups consist of? are there any kind of check lists or anything of that sort? Thanks

If they are going to train you then thats ok but if you have to do it by yourself you don't have enough experience sorry.

I've been doing alot of preventative maintenances, installations on new and preexisting homes and have handled quite a few service calls as well. i just want to know what all start ups consist of, not whether or not i have enough experience. thanks

I think it would be fair to say that a start-up would consist of exactly what it sounds like. I would think you would be insuring that the unit has been properly sized and matched . You would want to make sure you have met the manufactures requirements for the installation, superheat / subcooling correct?

In other words you would be insuring that everything about the installation was according to code and the Manufactures recomendations

start ups

i do a lot of start ups for my company we have a start up sheet to list liquid and suction pressures comp.amps and such if you have the know how of low voltage wiring,cfms and freon pressures its fiarly simple at least it was for me only have 2 years exp. and no school pass freon cert.universal

Some manufacturers will have their startup form in the unit manual,if not go to their website and see if they have it there or call them to get it.

Originally posted by pdavis6061980