Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hey guys

Looking for some advice. I graduated from trade school a year ago with a real great group of guys. After almost a year in the field, many have basically said "screw this". Their reasoning isn't the low pay at first, but what they have been told is continued low pay for the work that is being done. This isn't 1 or 2 guys, but actually 6. They say compare 5 years experience in the field with working for Fedex or the Post Office and you'll be making more money working for the latter. I'm not really sure how to respond to them and since I lurk here all the time, I was looking for some advice from the knowledable group here. I wanted to get some good advice for my buddies as I'm really not sure if they're being misled. I'm from Jersey which is where my friends also work. Thanks guys.

The hvac field is just a low paying trade in most cases.

try a union or other company,but a year exp is always going to be low paying at first.Hold on its gets better.The more money more problems to deal with.Trust me

Kinda funny hearing that , I really feel that its not all what it use to be. Im not sure if that all changed when every distributor started carrying premade fittings? Now a heating company barely needs sheet metal equipment. Use to try to get large enogh to have more employees but now I dont even want a couple like I use to. It just seems like it is getting to be more hassel then its worth with more red tape and rules that makes it less profitable. As far as something with retirement and benifits.......pretty sure this is not it lol.