ICP CHP042 HP System Diagnosis

Greetings everyone,

I am a fairly new homeowner of an all electric heating system using a HP (CHP042AKC3) and resistive strips as backup. I'm a research scientist and understand electromagnetics and thermodynamics, but this HVAC system is the first that I've really had any experience with, and I'm trying to learn a little more about it before making a decision that could end up being fairly expensive.

The system has been very loud this winter (the first since I bought the home) and I have noticed a pulsing vibration from the unit, especially when it goes into defrost mode. Like I said, I didn't have much experience with HVAC, and didn't feel comfortable attempting any diagnosis on my own. I called out a tech last week, who took some electrical measurements in various modes at an outdoor temp of about 15 degF, his conclusions:

"Compressor rated 24.1A, pulling 20.8A. Outdoor fan rated 1.9A, pulling 1.4A. Blower motor rated 4.3A, pulling 3.6A. Unit working properly in all modes."

Now, I asked about how he determined the "rated" current, and he said he used the data plate on the actual equipment. I've seen some discussion on here about how a good tech would always use the tech data

(http://icpindexing.mqgroup.com/docum...2843320103.pdf)

I have to admit that I don't understand much of this tech data, aside from a few specs here and there. Is the diagnosis appropriate in this case? Could someone help walk me through reading the tech data?