G23 w/Intermittent Main Blower
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    G23Q2-50-4, furnace starts, vent blower starts, ignites pilot, ignites burners but sometimes the main blower fails to run. Furnace then runs for several minutes before shutting down, then starts up again in several minutes and goes through the same process.

    Presumably the furnace shuts itself down due to overheating (since the temperature called for by the thermostat is never reached) and once the overheating sensor resets, the furnace starts up again to try and satisfy the thermostat.

    This is an intermittent thing, sometimes the main fan works and all is ok. I removed the electronic thermostat and replaced it with the original honeywell round style one and have the same results, intermittent main fan.

    Also of note, when the furnace is not running, I've turned the main fan switch on the thermostat from "auto" to "on", sometimes this turns the main fan on, and sometimes it doesn't. (so intermittent here as well.)

    Thanks for any help you can offer
    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    Sounds like your in need of the fan control brd.
    I would set the stat switch to "on".
    And when the blower comes on, leave on till the board is replaced.

    This will save the furnace from over heating, and save the stress on the parts and heat exchanger.
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Toolpusher, logical suggestion, must be cooking the poor furnace. (which explains the "hot dust" smell the gf was getting in her bedroom which is above the mechanical room)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    west chester pa
    Posts
    343
    problems with that blower brd i believe it's a 48k98 bcc3 brd.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks pipedope, sure sounds like that's the culprit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12

    Fixed

    Just a followup.

    Ordered the Blower Control board as suggested. When I removed the existing board, there was a black mark on the back of the board (fried circuit, faulty board)

    Installed the new board and all works as it should.

    Thanks for your help!

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event