Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Hmm Most reliable residential systems?

I am looking for some un-biased feedback from tradesmen regarding the most reliable residential split systems available today. This would include gas heat/AC, heat pump, and dual fuel combos. It's been ten+ years since I have been an active installation/service tech. I now work with building automation controls. I still perform service and replacements for family and friends, but have lost touch with knowledge of the current brands/models.
    When it comes right down to it, most of the "guts" of any given unit are made by a select few manufacturers (compressors, motors, metering devices etc). The major differences would be in the design and manufacturing of things like the condensing heat exchangers of gas furnaces, the refrigerant coils of the AC/heat pump units, the electronics, and the cabinet itself.
    I'd simply like to know which brands have the best track record as of late for reliability and lowest repair costs. Some of the proprietary components can cost more to repair than what one might save in energy during the life of the unit.

opinions are like a$$holes ..everybody has one.

we pretty much all agree that installation is paramount. then we say that the equipment doesn't matter. i don't necessarily buy into all of that..all furnaces aren't equal. are all cars equal? all dishwashers?....whatever.

that being said..... i have had real good luck with Rheem products. YMMV.

someone will be around shortly to tell you Rheem sucks.
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

kenney t Guest
    yea,rheem sucks YORK is better

told ya.
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

I am partial to Carrier, Payne and Bryant. They seem to be strong units. Rheem units are good as well.

kenney t Guest
    all your general purpose units are pertty much the same,it's when you get into the top of the line units you will see the differances