Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1

    Hmm

    Well... after doing a few searches in this forum I see that I will have to add a 5amp fuse while replacing my blown out transformer - since goodman doesnt use fuses (or a Resettable fuse R-270 since I have a 40 VA system)...

    I was wondering if I do add this fuse does it go on the 240V side of my transformer or the 24V side?

    Hmmm...

    Ooh - and Thanks Goodman... I didnt know what to do with all the spare time I have on my hands - hahah


    Thanks in advance for any reply.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GEORGIA
    Posts
    1,532
    What took out your transformer? Really need to isolate that...5 amp fuse?? If you have a low voltage short thats not going to be much help..good luck....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    It'll go on the low voltage side,
    And yes you'll need to locate the cause of the bad transformer or you'll empty the shelves of fuses.
    And be no better off,
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    You are obviously not qualified to be working on HVAC equipment. Did you also happen to install this unit?
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538
    You would fuse the secondary (24v) side.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

  6. #6

    Hmm

    I saw a previous post from PaysonHVAC that mentioned a 5 amp fuse... I assumed it was accurate:
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=53284

    yes, thanks for the reminder - I will begin tracing the wiring to find where it is shorting - I just did not want to blow several more transformers while tracking it down - as the fuses are much cheaper


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,333
    rules what are they

  8. #8
    Originally posted by RoBoTeq
    You are obviously not qualified to be working on HVAC equipment. Did you also happen to install this unit?
    This unit was installed in my new home 13 months ago by the pros.... well 13 months later the Transformer goes out and I give em a call to see my warranty expired after 12 months - ha...

    just my luck...

    Well now I have the bad transformer in my hand - each connection labled 1-4 and each wire taped and numbered 1-4 to ease of re-installation.

    I just traced the problem back to a newly installed Load Controller (as I was hoping - since that was under warranty still and the tech lives across the street) - the installer had wired the 2nd AC unit wrong and fried my x-former... he should be finishing up wiring it correctly about 3 minutes from now.

    Good thing is - I was really bored recently - this gives me something to do... and these forums are awesome...

    [Edited by savadious on 02-27-2005 at 07:47 PM]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    I thought goodman had 5 yr parts,
    Although it wouldn't help you in your case,
    since it was done by a tech across the street.

    He should replace it free and move on,
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    962
    What does this problem have to do with Goodman?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    5 amp fuse...............hehe
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Naples, Fla.
    Posts
    1,403
    While I'm not the guy to come to Goodman’s defense - this one isn’t theirs.

    The only products on the market today with low voltage fusing are commercial & very high end solid state products like the Carrier Infinity.

    Thanks to your bud across the street - you owe Goodman an apology.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    I've seen alot of resd. units use the low volt fuse.


    I was on a goodman today that had it.
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event