Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    51
    Anyone have experience or recommendations on wireless thermostats? We are seeing that the temp builds up where the current Honeywell stat is, and want to move it to antoher location.

    Only problem is completely finished basement, so thinking maybe wireless is the way to go? House is a ranch, forced air 80% effic.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland's Eastern Shore
    Posts
    892
    I haven't seen wireless stats as of yet, BUT, why not replace the current stat with a stat that will allow a Remote Temperature Device that you can locate anywhere you want and just use 2-wire t-stat wire.... If you have a drop ceiling it would almost be easy.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    The company Totaline makes a wireless T-stat. Not sure of the cost though.

    http://www.smarthome.com/30401.html
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    501
    I've used the Totaline one that duct dr mentioned. I used it to replace a stat that had the wire shorted in the wall somewhere, and it would have been a huge undertaking to run a new wire. I really like the wireless stat, and I will definately be using it again.

    I do remember the price, but since it's against the site rules, I'm not going to post it.

    Here's the link to the stat that I used: http://www.totaline.com/corp/details/0,,CLI1_DIV38_ETI2438,00.html

    [Edited by dorrmann on 02-26-2005 at 11:51 AM]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    51
    Thanks for the advice on wireless and the fact that you have used it before. Unfortunately the link did not work, but I will do some searching.

    As for a drop ceiling, if I had one that woudl be great. Unfortunately it is drywalled and I hate to tear it open to run a single set of wires. Also floor joist run in different directions due to house footprint.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    dzd, go to the link I posted, all the info is there.
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    665
    I sold several of the Totaline wireless stats and have had great luck with them.

    The last one was to a paraplegic guy who leaves the stat on his bed and can control the temp from bed.

    Another one in a two story home where the H/O didnt want to run down the stairs all the time to change the temp, so I installed one receiver, with two stats, one up and one down. Worked awesome!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    501
    Sorry about the link. It works if you copy and paste. Here it is to just click on.

    http://www.totaline.com/corp/details...TI2438,00.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,149
    you can even use remote sensors. totaline makes a wireless remote.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,581

    Thumbs up

    I used a wireless thermostat on roof top for a large game room in residence in Dallas.
    Total line makes the thermostat and receiver.
    You mount the receiver at the transformer location and you can mount the thermostat on wall with (1) screw so it can be moved if neccessary. 7Day Programmable

    Model P474-1100RF (2HEAT) (2COOL) Receiver PE110RF
    "Everyday above ground, is a good day".
    "But everyday that you have made a difference in someones life, may insure you stay above ground a little longer".<aircooled>

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Why does the heat build up where the thermostat is? Poor distribution or is it an outside influence such as direct sunlight shining on the stat or something else like its behind your bigscreen?

    I suspect you will only move your problem not resolve it.

    As for their reliability, I think they are ok

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    I dont know if this is the same problem I had doc, but I had a t-stat that had a small transformer in it, the stat was awsome. Auto changeover, worked on gas, straight cool, and heatpump. It uses no batteries, gets constant 24 volts from the air handler. The problem was the stat read 4 degrees warmer than the room. I traced it down to the transformer IN the stat. Wasnt long before it was replaced.
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    191

    Cool wireless stats

    I have use a lot of the Totaline
    brand. they work as stated.You
    do have to be a little careful
    about the location of the reciever
    though.I have had to move them out
    of the mechanical room to get away
    from all the metal ducting
    and concrete in there.When you
    use two or three stats with
    one reciever you can give one
    stat the ability to over ride
    (be the boss) over the other
    ones!
    41GAsman

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event