Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2

    Angry

    Replaced with new motor and runcap.Any suggestions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    4,264
    Sure the motor was defective?
    There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action....Mark Twain

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Yes, it looked by the coloration (dark black) .Also the contactor was black, replaced that and the relay .It will turn on if I help manually spin the fan blade then it will run but it runs very hot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Miss wired.
    Maybe you should get a service company out, before you burn up more new motors.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Wrong motor. Call for service.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Location!, Location!
    Posts
    929
    Wait- I gotta go toss all my black contactors-brb

  7. #7
    Sounds like a wiring and\or voltage issue. The motor is going to want to see the proper voltage and the proper run cap. Will the fan run if the compressor is not on ? The compressor could be the problem and pulling the voltage down going to the motor.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    191

    Talking Fan EMERGENCY

    Yea and the ground is on the
    bottom and not at the top where
    it SHOULD be.We have under some
    severly limited circumstanse
    installed a Cranes emergency
    booster fan to help get the
    main fan up and running.
    It also helps keep the big
    fan motor cool at the same time!
    I think carriar make one to.
    But its for commercial use
    only.I read somewhere that
    the origial idea for this
    device came from thoses big
    old tractor tractor motors
    they use to use.They had
    what was called a pony
    motor it was literally a
    small motor that was used to
    start the really big one.
    Sheer genus.Those old guys
    were shure some smart cookie!
    41Gasman


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    Originally posted by dair
    Replaced with new motor and runcap.Any suggestions
    Did you let the smoke out of it?
    I sure hope not.
    They run on smoke.
    Catch it & put it back in.

    Actually, it must have been just a bad motor from the factory.
    Happens all the time.
    Just take it back to the store for a refund.
    They will be happy to refund your money.
    Insist on cash.
    The counterman is your friend.

  10. #10
    Originally posted by bwal2
    Originally posted by dair
    Replaced with new motor and runcap.Any suggestions
    Did you let the smoke out of it?
    I sure hope not.
    They run on smoke.
    Catch it & put it back in.

    Actually, it must have been just a bad motor from the factory.

    Happens all the time.

    Just take it back to the store for a refund.

    They will be happy to refund your money.

    Insist on cash.
    The counterman is your friend.

    Interesting, never looked at it that way, lost two motors on consecutive so they were probably bad from the factory I think I'll try that approach, nah nevermind I need my job.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    200
    i have gotten new motors that were either droped on the shaft or the person putting them together screwed them to tight and the shaft was hard to spin by hand,,if this is what is happening you could try and loosen the 4 screws and see if the shaft frees up

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event