Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I have a opportunity

I have been a tech for over 9 years (residential).

I recently got promoted to "territory service leader"...kind of like "senoir tech" ( i am 1 of 2 out of 12-13 guys).

For the last 6 months I have been doing some sales/design work...first my own calls(service calls that I turned into sales calls)....then recently I started doing cold calls(sales calls scheduled thru the office)...

I am having a blast.....and my manager has given me the option to gradually move into sales full time.

My only concern is a constant paycheck....As a tech I work as much as I would like or more ..pretty much year round...As sales I don't know how I would do.

The other thing I can see is me being on full commission and being asked to run some trouble service calls..

anybody else make this tranaction??

thanks
    ed

I am having a blast.....and my manager has given me the option to gradually move into sales full time.

I would just do it.

Not even close to your situation, but someday hopefully I will be.

I say if you enjoy it, try it, life's too short to be stuck doing work you hate.... or in your situation just like vs love. Whats the worst? Your boss sounds cool and if sales wasn't for you, I'm sure you'd have a position doing what you're doing now.

Ed, most salesmen work on a guaranteed minimum as part of their salary. Generally it is no less than 10% of their wages plus commission. In you case, since you have such a strong technicial background it should be more like 25-30% plus commission.

Dale Carneige offers a very comprehensive Sales Course. After I took this course my sales went up by 35% the first year. Before taking this course I spent a lot of my time figuring jobs but many times they would not buy the jobs that I figured. The only difference is I learned how to sell the jobs I figured.

You do want people to buy the jobs that you figured for them don't you?

yes benncool