Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: remote sensors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    steeler nation
    Posts
    2,083
    we are currently renovating a home for a wealthy and very difficult to please customer. 4 splits, boilers radiant floors etc. the owner does not want to see stats on the walls even the remote sensors i have shown her are to big.
    does anyone know where i can find a very small remote sensor(she says flat and no bigger than a dime !) i can tie into a programable stat hidden in a closet. thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    104
    You could put sensors in the return air ducts on the splits, as long as the fan is set to "on". As far as the radiant I'm not sure about that.
    Mark

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    830
    Aprilaire makes the flat disc remote sensors but they are about the size of a quarter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phoenix Metro
    Posts
    267
    What about these?

    http://www.smarthome.com/1522.html
    http://www.smarthome.com/1524.html
    http://www.smarthome.com/1526.html

    Not exactly small, but definitely good looking...
    --vt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,358
    A Vision Pro will accept remote sensors. As suggested, you could hang the stat in a closet or utility room and place the sensors in the return air...I'd try to get them downstream of any filtration if that's the case.

    Why pick on thermostats, I wonder? Shouldn't this client also object to light switches, outlets, smoke detectors, motion sensors, etc?
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.


    A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    247
    If you take apart most remote sensors, they're only a tiny thermistor with, possibly, a capacitor for induced current protection. Maybe hide them behind a painting, mirror or other wall hanging.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    200
    put in toggle switches,,tell her when it gets hot to flip the switch

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    6,579


    I have heard that Johnson Controls makes a sensor that can be imbedded in the surface of the wall so it cannot be seen. Go this information from a Johnson technician.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Seattle Area
    Posts
    96
    Aprilaire, makes a flid (sensor) that gets textured or painted into the sheetrock with the thermostat in the mechanical room. The lady can be nothing but pleased to see nothing on her walls. I put 22 of them in a house recently, the only issue is to map where they are for future reference/service.

  10. #10
    Maybe she needs a fireplace ? No stat No sensor adjust temp by the amount of wood and air you put in.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    louisville
    Posts
    46
    Tell her not to be ashamed, everybody has them.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    steeler nation
    Posts
    2,083
    there quite a few things i would like to say to this women.
    they own newspapers across the country and have buildings at PITT and CMU named after them this is old money like the carnegies and mellons. i appreciate the advice and have found a few leads. thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event