Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I need a meter that reads temperature. I've got it narrowed down to 3 Fluke meters; Fluke 16, 179, or 52. I'd like your opinions, please.

The Fluke 16 seems to be a favorite on this site. The only downside I see is that it reads current only up to 200uA.
    That's good for control circuits, but not for higher current devices like motors. Although it can accept an optional current clamp-on attachment.

The Fluke 179 also reads temp, and can read up to 10A, as well as frequency. As an hvac tech, how often are frequency measurements made? Is this an important feature? So far this is my favorite meter, because of its many functions.
    Has anyone used this meter?

The Fluke 52 is a temp meter only. It can read 2 temps at a time and record it. Is this important in hvac repair? Or is it over-kill? It appears to be a lab-quality meter, which may be more than what's necessary in the field.

Although I'm still an hvac student, I'm willing to spend a little extra and get a quality meter. Your suggestions are appreciated!

Get the 16 it's a good starter meter and the price's ok.
    The 52 doesn't hurt to have either but 16 will take temps and record them as well.
    work to live not live to work

and the 23 is a good meter that accepts the thermometer, amp clamp etc...

In this field...The only meter you need is the Fkuke 16 and a good amp meter of your own choosing. If you have a specialty, further research is required.

I would get the 52 & the pipe clamps too.It is a great time saver to be able to get temp rise,sub cooling,&super heat readings without changing probes.I also have extra long leads that are a great help with mua's.I also have a 16 & on ocassion have had three temp probes working at one time.Being able to take accurate temperature readings is a must for servicing.

[Edited by markwolf on 02-11-2005 at 12:56 AM]
    Take your time & do it right!