Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    322
    If you have the kind that is designed to maintain a desired airflow regardless of duct work, within limits of course, how does it work? I assume there is some kind of pressure sensor, but where is it located? Is it in the motor housing itself? Just curious.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Good question Bob,

    The ECM motors module monitors torque required to turn the motor. Blower curves for specific HP, blower wheel size and static pressure are graphed and configured into the software the ECM motor uses. Each model, size, brand used specific software that is written for the speific unit.

    The motor reads the torque and then adjusts accordingly. The actual CFM or static is not read. Some equipment may even offer a readout but it is a conversion from torque.

    I should also add that most equipment has a control board with dip switches which configures 24v signals to the module so dehumidification, and other changes can be made without rewriting the software for each application.

    Hope this helps. Now donate 3 bucks to the local childrens hospital.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Memphis TN USA
    Posts
    6,969
    I have always womdered how that would be affected by a dirty blower wheel
    If the superheat ain't right it ain't charged right.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Well, I suspect unless the weight of the dirt becomes a factor (enertia), the torque is primarily affected by the air being moved. Variable speed is certainly no cure all for poor ducts or maintenence.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Memphis TN USA
    Posts
    6,969
    Finally I get to pick on somebody for misspelling
    Inertia.

    Boy, that felt good after all the crap I get over not being able to spell.
    If the superheat ain't right it ain't charged right.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Thats it, bust my chops for that. Can the owners of this site offer spell check?

    Its the keyboard, yeah thats it the keyboard that did it.

    if the I and E werent so close it never wouldve happened. I mean they are less than 5 inches apart.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event