Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Confused Charge by sub cooling?

I'm a beginner at this, though I have a degree and the liscense, I am getting the "hands on experience" on my own with no instructor.
    I changed out a 3/4 hp roof top condensing unit that was on a walk in cooler last week. It was an R12 unit, and I replaced it with an R22 unit of the same type. I was having a problem overcharging it, as I was trying to charge by reading the evap. temp on the low side guage. A friend of mine said the best way to charge this unit is "10 degrees subcooling". What does he mean, and exactly what are the steps you take to do this? Is it the best way to charge, and if not, what other methods are there?

The first thing you need is a solid understanding of superheat and subcooling. Then you need to learn how to charge by watching BOTH the superheat and subcooling. There are some here who will try to teach you that you charge by subcooling for one type of metering device and by superheat when you have another type of metering device.

It is always best to watch both the superheat and subcooling when charging any system.

For an understanding of superheat and subcooling go here:

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=33829

Norm

Ussually walk in coolers/freezers have expansion valves
    which will maintain a fairly consistant superheat when
    overcharged, I agree subcooling is an excellant indication
    of refrigerant charge and 10f is a good target. Of course
    things change if its cold outside and a headmaster or fan
    cycling is controlling head pres.
    I also agree with NormChris that you cant look at
    subcooling alone, sightglass,comp amps,pressures/temps,
    superheat,etc should all be checked

I hope you changed the indoor unit as well. Especially the TXV.

If the new condensing unit has a receiver, forget subcooling. The condenser will not hold any liquid to subcool.

Low Charge vs Overcharge and subcooling