Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    435

    Cap Tube Replacement

    I have a Whalen Company 2 ton water source heat pump that is in a high rise condo. The unit is sunk in the wall and unservicable. I took the unit to the shop and created a simulated enviroment to service the unit. I came to the conclusion that there was a restriction in my strainer or in a cap tube. I have never done a cap tube replacement. I contacted the manufacturer and they told me the unit has 3 32" .060" cap tubes but the parts houses only carry 5 sizes, the closest being .064". This tubing came with a sizing chart that sizes the tube off of the hp of the conpressor. They recommend putting in 81" of .064" cap to replace my 32" of .060". This seems like a major increase to me. I understand that I have to go longer due to the bigger diameter but I feel that 50" more is excessive. The thing that troubles me is that they only size the tube off of hp and no other factors so I am a little hesitant to put that much more cap tube in there. I am curious as to other experiences that people have had replacing cap tubes with another size.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Madison WI
    Posts
    77
    I have used the hp replacement chart and in some systems have had to adjust the cap tube to get the right td on the evap and make sure the compressor gets some cooling but not to much. When I started we used to clean cap tube's with subco and just change the strainer drier but with labor cost we now just replace parts. I have not used my cap tube cleaning tool in 20 years.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    i did the pi r sq x length using both cap tubes

    i came up with this

    the 81" cap is 2.6" capacity

    the 32" is 2.88"





    2.6 and 2.88

    seems close enough????????????
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    7,008
    The Bozo Puter gave me 42.5" of .064 for each tube
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    oops i am tired now i keep coming up with .0904 on the 32"

    i better go to bed





    .0904







    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    i did the pi r sq x length using both cap tubes

    i came up with this

    the 81" cap is 2.6" capacity

    the 32" is 2.88"





    2.6 and 2.88

    seems close enough????????????
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    435
    I ended up using 48" on each tube. I split at 12' coil into three cause thats all the part house had. It worked out. I got my target superheat and subcooling and everything seems to operated correctly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event