Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Propylene or ethylene glycol?

I am looking for pros and cons of using propylene or ethylene glycol in small chilled water systems that may be exposed to freezing conditions during cold weather. My background is design so I am aware of the physical properties of each product, I am looking for input more on the practical (cost, hard to get, etc.) side of things.

Thanks in advance.

propylene is not considered toxic yet, whereby ethylene is not allowed to go down a drain as it is considered toxic. broke pipe or drain down needs to be considered in any piping system.

ethylene is considered more "toxic" but has better heat transfer properties.

Quote Originally Posted by flange View Post
    propylene is not considered toxic yet, whereby ethylene is not allowed to go down a drain as it is considered toxic. broke pipe or drain down needs to be considered in any piping system.
    Yes, have used 50% propylene (aluminum compatible with inhibitor) in my outside fired boiler system for the last 30 years, replace every 4 or 5 years at a very reasonable price for a five gallon (U.S) pail. I believe the heat transfer properties are about 97% that of water though some posts at http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.c...=155955&page=8 may be of help to you...