Carrier VVT to LON gateway?
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    446
    Has anyone tried integrating an existing Carrier VVT system to a LonWorks network? I have a potential customer who has spent a ton of money with Carrier and they hate it. Seems to me that I saw somewhere some LON VAV controllers which could adapt to Carrier VVT boxes without having to change out the damper actuator. Ideas appreciated!
    Cheers,
    LB
    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Which type of Carrier VVT?
    I really haven't experienced an inordinate amount of trouble with the stuff. It is true that they aren't much on the software side.
    And they really didn't have a decent upgrade path. Anyway, you can rip the controller their actuators and use anything you want.

    I do think it's funny when Carrier came out with the direct coupled actuators their marketing department acted like they invented them.... bunch of morons. What a joke.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    446
    It's a CCN Comfort View Version 2.0 running on a W98 PC. I walked the job today and found a 10 ton 50DK501445 heatpump and 7 zones. There's also 2 bypass ducts/dampers (12" & 16") which are supposed to maintain velocity across the coil during low terminal loads but they have a big issue with noise and temperature control. Intermittently the heatpump trips on a safety control (probably low pressure) and requires a manual reset. Obviously the air distribution needs to be addressed but I'm also considering proposing a LON based heatpump controller that can also do static pressure control of the bypass dampers. I'm open to suggestions!
    A hundred million nodes - it's a LON story.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    If you think you can mix the Carrier boxes with different bypass and unit control think again.

    This system doesn't measure air flow. It can be prone to the "airplane effect".

    I would make sure the bypass is set up correctly. Then check to see if there is a backdraft damper. Next, I'd set up min damper positions for all rooms. Then watch the system go. You can see the SA temp and static off the bypass controller.

    -it's proprietary and that is a problem, but maybe not the problem. Score one for their sales department at any rate.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    284

    Bypass

    Are the bypass dampers real close to the machine like thay show in there prints? we had the same problem redid the ductwork and installed the bypass dampers at the end of supply and back to the return went to 16" from 14" worked great then. Carrier to Lon never heard anything that would work for that.If you find a way let us in on it..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    240
    Replacing the controls is not going to fix a poor install. If you set up the Carrier system properly, the bypass controller will maintain the correct duct static.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    You many want to check damper sizing. Many didn't "choke" down the damper sizing and that also leads to poor control.

    I would have installed a backdraft damper. Check for that. That reduces the need to relocate the bypass at end of line which would potentially cause longer changeover.

    I think you will need Fieldserver but also go to (A Carrier box- name eludes me Data something) that gets you CCN.

    Carrier does a really good job at being proprietary.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event