Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 31
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    i don't agree with the negative remarks about fieldpiece at all. i own a fieldpiece hs32 and a fluke 322. i have never had any problems with either. i acually like the fieldpiece alittle better because of the attachments. oh and by-the-way my hs32 was far from cheap or low-end and measures to 200 vdc.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland's Eastern Shore
    Posts
    892
    Man all this is crazy... Stop trashing Fieldpiece... If you want low end crap go with meterman, amprobe, craftsman, or the like...

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,722
    I bought a Fieldpiece SC76 for the simple fact that it does the job I need it to do. I didn't buy it for the accessory heads option. I think that's worthless. I'll buy the appropriate tool for the job it does. I can't say people don't buy these meters with loving the option of the heads...but,

    I wouldn't buy a hammer with a lawnmower accessory head. They make a specific tool for it's specific purpose.
    Get back to work.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    321
    I bought a fieldpiece SC76 back in November, so far it's been good to me. I'll keep you posted as I use it more, but so far, no complaints.

    (Hey, for a 1st year apprentice's limited budget, it seemed the best bang for the buck)
    "Punctuation and capitalization is the difference between: Helping your Uncle, Jack, off a horse. And: helping your uncle jack off a horse"
    ---
    If Mexicans will do the jobs Americans won't do, will they secure our borders?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Originally posted by cde72
    Man all this is crazy... Stop trashing Fieldpiece... If you want low end crap go with meterman, amprobe, craftsman, or the like...
    What's crazy is trying to group a piece of **** manufacturer like fieldpiece with Fluke. Again, we're not talking Ford and Chevy, we're talking Yugo (Fieldpiece) and Cadillac (Fluke). Hell, I'd buy a new Amprobe meter long before I'd buy fieldpiece.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Originally posted by condenseddave
    I'd buy a new Amprobe meter long before I'd buy fieldpiece.
    I still have an Amprobe ACD-10 that I got 13 years ago when i first started going to school. It is in my automotive tool box now though. I actually replaced it with an early fieldpiece stick meeter with a clamp head. I replaced the Fieldpiece with a Fluke 77 and Fluke 30 within a month, and threw the Fieldpiece in the trash, it was total garbage.
    I still have that Amprobe though...

    I think Fieldpiece does have a place though. It is cheep enough that someone that is just starting out can get a decent setup to do the job. Then they can work on building up a good set of quality test instruments over a few years, and keep the Fieldpiece stuff as backups.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Remember, you can get the Fluke HVAC combo kit for under 200 bucks.

    That's the Fluke 16, which has temperature, and capacitance, in addition to standard DVM meters, and the Fluke 322 clamp DMM. A GOOD, high quality set of leads and a case for the hole outfit.

    Like the Fielpiece OEM leads? Didn't think so.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    884

    Question Condenseddave :

    I bought a SC67 a year ago and have not had any problems with it. It has been a great clamp-on for the work that I do. For the life of me, I cannot understand why you hate the brand so much.......you almost seem like you have a vendetta against FP. I know people that have bought Fluke, Amprobe and other "top shelf" brands and been dissatified. If the meter works everytime, is accurate and dependable, its a good meter........'nuff said.
    KX500......the original big green meanie

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    manitowoc wisconsin
    Posts
    4,943
    Originally posted by condenseddave
    Remember, you can get the Fluke HVAC combo kit for under 200 bucks.

    That's the Fluke 16, which has temperature, and capacitance, in addition to standard DVM meters, and the Fluke 322 clamp DMM. A GOOD, high quality set of leads and a case for the hole outfit.

    Like the Fielpiece OEM leads? Didn't think so.
    Geez dave I have the original 15? year old leads on my fieldpiece,I have the extra long probes & have bent them on accident a multitude of times.Hell I stepped on one today & bent it on a 90 deg angle.I bent it back & it is ok.Most of the guys I have seen complain about fieldpiece meters just plain old didn't understand how to use the functions.I do not think you fit in that category.What left such a bad taste in your mouth for them?I like mine most of the time my fluke meters sit in my truck & I use the field piece.The only time I ever get the flukes out is when I have to monitor multiple inputs at the same time.(It is commical to see a guy with four meters hooked up to one machine at a time but it does happen on rare occasions lol)

    [Edited by markwolf on 01-20-2005 at 12:59 AM]
    Take your time & do it right!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,458
    You really appreciate the "stick type" fieldpiece meter with the magnet (HS35) when you are installing 50-100 electric meters on a panel and you have to wiggy out every socket. I love'em

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona
    Posts
    925
    The Saga continues...........(and NEEDLESS Name calling)

    To try to answer the first post with out EXTREME opinions.

    I own a HS-35 and (at lest in high heat) the batteries has lasted over a year. I have two co-workers who own the HS-36 and no problems.
    Yes the meter jumps alot in AUTO Ranging. If that's a problem just set the range to manual.

    Yuma,

    A Proud owner and user of Fieldpiece meters, and user of leak search DYES.
    IN SPITE of other opinions...
    What is snow? Is it that white stuff in a freezer?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    prov.r.i.
    Posts
    1,441

    Talking field piece users

    never leave home with out it,best damn meter for the buck,also use fluke.
    if at first you dont succeed,then skydiving is not for you

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    534
    I use Field Piece every day it's not a bad meter, I use the field peice for just everyday work Amps,volts,Ohms I thought why beat up my fluke meters? When I do trouble shooting and controls work I break out the fluke meters I feel more comfortable with fluke on my side!! I watched a Fluke Cd my dad gave me It showed how the other brands would blow up in your hand as were fluke just blew the Fuse And lets face facts Our main Objective at the end of our day is get home to our families in one piece that said spend the dough for a Fluke.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event