Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    566
    im wondering if anyone knows what type of cable to use to direct connect to controller via comm port i keep getting port initialization failures thanks to replies

  2. #2
    The cable you need is a 9-pin null modem cable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    566
    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    811
    You have to modify the cable
    with a 470 Ohm resistor and swapping around a couple of wires
    I will post the diagram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    478
    Bobby, before building your own, or modifying something, first try a standard 9-pin F-F null-modem cable. For years, we've used a standard Radio Shack or electronics store cable right off the shelf with no modifications necessary.
    As far as port initialization errors go, even the wrong cable shouldn't cause that - you'd simply get a communications timeout from the program. Even though I'm probably preaching to the choir, I'll state the obvious that you need to make sure that no other application is trying to use the COM port. The one that catches our techs the most is that pesky Palm HotSync application running in the background, claiming the serial port even if not specifically called for.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,146
    Dittos with a standard 9-pin null modem cable


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Griffin Georgia
    Posts
    2
    i have had sucess using a data or file tramsfer cable to connect to the dx9100 controller for several years and have had no problems. You can find these cables at most computer stores at a fair price.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    6
    yes, Radio Shack Circuit City they are about 15 to 25 bucks depending on the store

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington,NJ
    Posts
    504
    Yep, standard 9 to 9 null modem cable, I don't know what cleancondenser is talking about, when he mentions modifying the cable and adding a resistor. It almost sounds as though you have a software issue with your connection.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    566
    yes it was a problem with the laptop software now fixed thanks for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event