Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1

    Frown

    Ok, I know i probably should read some post before I ask my question in case of redundancy; but I have no heat, it's 11 O'late, the temp is in the 20's, and the wind is blowing 20+mph...
    I went to the attic and watched the furnace sort of wind up. the Igniters started to glow and then I heard the gas kick on for like 2 sec. Then Pop. The gas goes off and the blower quits. We have a small second unit for the kids play room upstairs (where we are huddled for the night I think). Its on the same gas pipe and is working fine. Is there anything I can do tonight to fix this? If not, what should I tell the service guy in the morning?

    BTY- Our unit is 13 months old. New House. Should have opted for the extended warranty huh... Figures..

    Cheers,
    Big JeepXJ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    K.C. MO
    Posts
    10
    Sounds familiar, a buddy of mine had the same problems a couple of days ago. My post was under somthing like "short ignition" anyways, it's probably not somthing to where you can just go flip a switch or something. I'd say call a pro. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    K.C. MO
    Posts
    10
    Sorry, guess I didn't read all of your post. I would tell them exactly what you wrote here. That will give them a good idea where to start. Possible gas valve problem or limit. Being that new I would still call the original installer and see if they could give you any kind of break, it being so new. Couldn't hurt.

  4. #4

    Thumbs up

    Thanks.
    I just saw the short ignition post too.
    I guess we'll have plenty "quality time" tonight. I'll give the builder a call and see what they can do. I'll post and tell what happened.

    Cheers,
    Big JeepXJ

  5. #5
    reem wont work if the polarity of the hi voltage wires arn't
    correct.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,149
    Stimp speaks soothe

    Rheems Criterion furnaces cycle the flame off after 2secs if it fails to detect flame. Your flame sensor is bad and/or as Stimp said the transformer is not polarized properly. Whereas if it were running once with no work done to it, it's most likely the flame sensor and not the polarity.

    Also the burner assembly needs to be firmly in contact with the unit chassis as the burner is the ground path for the flame sensor. Sometimes the screws get loose and rusty.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    3,112
    Don't start condemning and replacing parts. Look at the symptoms and narrow this problem down. A call for heat is initiated and the furnace begins the cycle. Everything is fine until time to sense and prove flame. The unit drops out. Attic installation and the unit was probably operated while the house was under construction. Unit worked okay last heating season. Maybe all it needs is the flame senser cleaned. Have the technician try that first.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    that unit should still be under warranty (parts).
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    [i]Originally posted by big jeepxj
    (I went to the attic and watched the furnace sort of wind up. the Igniters started to glow and then I heard the gas kick on for like 2 sec. Then Pop. The gas goes off and the blower quits.
    Cheers,
    Big JeepXJ)

    (Rheems Criterion furnaces cycle the flame off after 2secs if it fails to detect flame. Your flame sensor is bad and/or as Stimp said the transformer is not polarized properly. Whereas if it were running once with no work done to it, it's most likely the flame sensor and not the polarity.

    Also the burner assembly needs to be firmly in contact with the unit chassis as the burner is the ground path for the flame sensor. Sometimes the screws get loose and rusty.) [/B]
    I have had the same problem and what I do is clean the flame sensor and it is fine for about 4 months or so. I have done this for about 2 years. I was wondering if anybody would know if there is a underlying problem that I am not finding that is causing this.
    thank you for time
    Pat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    655
    Problem could be condensation in line from fan housing to vacume switch, vacume switch very sensitive.
    Proves inducer fan operating.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5
    Hey Kpheat....
    Unit must be grounded properly to have flame rectification if you need to clean every 4 months try a new sensor. They are not that costly and maybe you just have a weak or very sensitive one. Thats what I would do anyways.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    No that furnace doesnt look for a solid flame signal for 7 or 8 seconds after the gas valve opens, if its shutting down in 2, odds are the pressure switch is opening. Its not a gas valve or limit switch. If there is a small window in the blower door, count the flashes and report back.

    Now find out why.

    Could be overfired, could be a venting issue. Could be a weak inducer or inducer capacitor. Im not so sure about moisture since it will recycle. Moisture in the PS line would hold the PS in one position or the other.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,918
    Originally posted by docholiday
    No that furnace doesnt look for a solid flame signal for 7 or 8 seconds after the gas valve opens, if its shutting down in 2, odds are the pressure switch is opening. Its not a gas valve or limit switch. If there is a small window in the blower door, count the flashes and report back.

    Now find out why.

    Could be overfired, could be a venting issue. Could be a weak inducer or inducer capacitor. Im not so sure about moisture since it will recycle. Moisture in the PS line would hold the PS in one position or the other.
    Is the inducer capacitor on the board ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event