Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    34.8n 102.4w
    Posts
    3,244
    Kids left for college and I found Firefox on my desktop. I've always used Internet Explorer, but thought I'd give this a try.... so far it seems very fast, the font is kinda small but it looks good. Anybody got any others ???
    Life goes on long after the thrill of living is gone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    I've used Firefox, too. I like it.
    It doesn't get hijacked as easily as IE.
    I've got Opera on an old laptop that wouldn't run Win98. It works fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,910
    Firefox is good. They just came out with v1.0.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856

    Firefox

    I you right click on a link it will ask you if you want to open a new window or a new tab. The tab feature is pretty cool.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538
    I have been using Firefox almost 5 months now and liked what I saw as a beta release.

    Now that its a V1.0 build I dont think I would ever go back to I.E.

    Very small, very fast and very secure (at least for now).
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Isle of Long
    Posts
    611
    I like Firefox. Only use IE when certain websites don't accept it, IE Lennox. Haven't dug into Thunderbird too much yet but trying out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    emerald city, sc
    Posts
    1,469

    Re: Firefox

    Originally posted by karsthuntr
    I you right click on a link it will ask you if you want to open a new window or a new tab. The tab feature is pretty cool.
    netscape has been that way for a long time
    i wanted to put a picture here

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538

    Re: Re: Firefox

    Originally posted by tlcartman
    Originally posted by karsthuntr
    I you right click on a link it will ask you if you want to open a new window or a new tab. The tab feature is pretty cool.
    netscape has been that way for a long time
    Maybe thats because their both based on Mozilla.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    34.8n 102.4w
    Posts
    3,244
    I think the very first browser we had was "mosaic" and i think that evolved into mozilla.... but that's been a few bytes ago.. I guess sometimes you go full circle.
    Life goes on long after the thrill of living is gone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,195
    Get the extension to view in IE. Adds a right-click option to open a link or button in IE without having to back out, open and reload. VERY handy for manufacturer's sites and others that require IE.

    Frankly, I just scrubbed my drive and reloaded, got Firefox back, and cannot view the buttons on this site. Have to use IE for this until I can square it away.

    Any ideas out there?
    "That's good enough..." usually isn't.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    34.8n 102.4w
    Posts
    3,244

    air

    When i used IE and Zone Alarm together I would not get the profile button . If I turnrd Zone Alarm off and reload the page , the button was there...I thought that was strange.
    Life goes on long after the thrill of living is gone.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    If you have Zone Alarm Pro it is the ad blocking feature that will block some of the buttons on this site, try turning that feature off

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    173
    Originally posted by sline-dawg
    Kids left for college and I found Firefox on my desktop. I've always used Internet Explorer, but thought I'd give this a try.... so far it seems very fast, the font is kinda small but it looks good. Anybody got any others ???
    You can change the front. Go to Tools then down to options> then general and click on fronts

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event