Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,032
    It showed what was on it, then wouldn't read anything after that. Now it wont read any of it.

    Anyway to restore it?
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    321
    Do you have another computer to try reading the floppy on? (Maybe even the one that created it? )
    "Punctuation and capitalization is the difference between: Helping your Uncle, Jack, off a horse. And: helping your uncle jack off a horse"
    ---
    If Mexicans will do the jobs Americans won't do, will they secure our borders?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,157
    lynn: when you start up your comp hold down the esc key or the del key to bring up the bios ;

    under the options menu make sure that the FDc floppy drive controller is still enabled

    if not enable it then f-10 - y -restart and when it restarts part of the sequence should be to find the floppy . you will notice the light come on then go off , as windows starts ....try that and ill check back

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    6,579

    lynn:

    Just so happens that my daughter just ran into the same problem. She just completed a school assignment and saved it to a floppy. Now she can't get it to open. We have tried to open it on three different computers. No luck.

    She is taking the floppy to a local computer expert to see if he can do something.

    Norm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,032
    Tried it on another computer and no luck.

    No problems with other disks.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    You can try scandisk in windows - yes, scandisk works on floppies!!

    Floppy Disks are not reliable and NEVER should be used as a primary means of data storage. If you must use them, make a backup copy on a CD or your hard disk.

    I only use them for system recovery/diagnostics - when other devices are not accessible or the hard disk needs reformatting.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    What's a floppy disc ??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Urbandale IA. USA
    Posts
    4,925
    Sounds like you might have a virus.
    Scan the floppy for virus's, then try it again.
    UPDATE your virus software WEEKLY!

    Those who dance, appear insane to those who do not hear the music.
    Those who believe, appear ignorant to those who do not know God.

  9. #9
    You may have a problem with whatever program you used to write or store the info. Try reloading that if nothing else works.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Slacking off right now
    Posts
    7,546
    Lynn noodle around on the net like at cnet you will find data recovery programs to down load. Some of them are trial versions that will recover the data then you buy a key to release the data. some trial versions will recover data up to a certain file size free of charge and then you pay if your file is larger.

    I have used some with a great deal of sucess even on defective cdrs.
    Good luck
    www.vetopropac.com - The best tool bags on the market - The offical tool bag of choice by techs everywhere

    Arguing with some people is like wrestling a pig - eventually you realise the pig actually enjoys it

    Gonads serve a useful purpose but are no substitute for brains

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    manitowoc wisconsin
    Posts
    4,943
    I bought a whole box of 50 & all were defective but 12.Look on the bright side,You could have just had a critical hard drive mechanical failure that shorted your power supply & took out your mother board too.The plus to that is I got to build myself a new machine @ 2.6 gig cpu.I am still working through a few bugs though have fun I know I will!
    Take your time & do it right!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,032
    There is nothing on it that I'll miss or can't rebuild easily.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538
    Maybe you can get some help here.

    http://www.helponthenet.com.

    On the main menu go to forums.

    Sort of like the hvac-talk of the computing world.

    Good luck.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event