Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    556

    VisionPro IAQ Stat - Long Term Reliable?

    Anybody have insight as to the long-term reliability of the VisionPro IAQ stats? Down here in Florida electronics are regularly put to the stress test from power spikes, brown-outs and lightning surges. If anybody has experience as to the long-term durability of the VisionPro it would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Sonic

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,184
    The jury is still out with me. The $50 White-Rodgers sure hold up a lot better but could be because they are simpler. Lately, we've been seeing IAQs and now a regular VP with part of the screen not working. Had a new one with a stripped screw. Mine doesn't say when emergency heat comes on. I'm getting more leery. But so far, there's no competition except proprietary communicating stats, 1 of which is a modified VP.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,048
    Have had 0 trouble here with them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Andalucia
    Posts
    3,223
    Quote Originally Posted by SonicExplorer View Post
    Anybody have insight as to the long-term reliability of the VisionPro IAQ stats? Down here in Florida electronics are regularly put to the stress test from power spikes, brown-outs and lightning surges. If anybody has experience as to the long-term durability of the VisionPro it would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Sonic
    I have replaced a lot of the 8000 but not the IAQ.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    165
    I replaced 1 iaq due to a lightning strike. That was the only one i have had to replace.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    556
    Speaking of lightning...

    As already stated above, we have a lot of power interruptions here in Florida. So how does the VisionPro IAQ react to loss of power? Does it retain all it's settings and recover/reboot on it's own (both the stat and the EIM) or is something required to re-set and/or re-program every time there's a power interruption?

    Sonic

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,108
    They retain all of their programming.

    They have a battery inside off them that maintains that.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    no problems for many years so far with ALL of the 8000's and IAQ's i have installed



    .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    4,842
    Lost an 8000 last week, so far no IAQ issues.
    A good HVAC tech knows how, an educated HVAC tech knows why!

    DEM


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,108
    Quote Originally Posted by heaterman View Post
    Lost an 8000 last week.
    Is there a reward for finding it.

    Had 2-8000 series go bad, and an IAQ stat(not the EIM) go bad.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event