Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Water Treatment Questions Welcome!

I am fairly new to the forum. I have noticed there is very little here on the water treatment side and I hope I can be of some help. I am a water treater in Southern California, which has the worst water quality in the U.S. outside of Arizona.

If anyone has questions, please ask. I am a degreed chemist and I love to share knowledge and help any where I can!

good to have you onboard

the good ship lollipop
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

What do you think of the Dolphin and others like it?
    God Bless our Veterans

God Bless the USA

Ive been following your replies here.

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=666691

Welcome to the site and thanks for the input.

Quote Originally Posted by Randy S. View Post
    What do you think of the Dolphin and others like it?
    The Dolphin, well there is so much to say about it... and unfortunately nothing good. They say that the electromagetic pulse 'alters the crystalization' of the calcium molecule and makes a silt called argonite. No one can say specifically how it does this and that includes the Dolphin people.

With out getting too muddled in the science, here is what you need to know. If you use this calculation on your make up water, you can determine the actual cycles of concentration, (tower conductivity divided by makeup conductivity = cycles) that you can run without chemical or any treatment and avoid scaling. The calculation is:

The square root of (11,000 divided by (makeup 'M' Alkalinity x makeup Ca Hardness)

For example, if your makeup has 90 parts of 'M' Alkalinity and 60 parts of calcium hardness the the equation would be:

Sq Rt of (11,000 divided by (90 x 60)) or the Sq Rt of 2.037 which is: 1.43 cycles. Therefore, if citywater conductivity is 500, then the bleed setpoint on the tower would be 500 X 1.43 or 715 umhos.