Thread: High pot test

Hi guys
    I'm gonna high pot test an electrical panel of our boilers.Actually ,I know the instruction of the Hi-pot tester which is from Biddle instrument ,but I've never done it before.The power line of the E-panel is one of 115v/208-230/1Ph/60Hz or 208-230/460/575/3Ph/60Hz and the control line is 115-120v/1Ph/60Hz or 24Vac.I don't know how to test this panel.It's a simple panel consist of temp controller,burner controller and relays and timers,actuators and ....Could you please help me to find out it?Thanks

Why would you High Pot a control panel? That is a destructive test. Even if you meant to say Meg test, why would you meg a control panel. That is typically a test done on motor windings.

This is one of Q.C factory test report items that should be done by electrical dep.All questions are just about electrical panel,e.g.:is the wiring of panel according to electrical wiring diagram?all wiring are tight?is hi-pot test done on panel?is it cleaned and vaccumed,...and to pass the Q.C test,panel shoul meet all listed requirements.I look forward to hearing from u guys and appreciate it.

Originally posted by november04
    ?is hi-pot test done on panel?
    No,I'm ignorant of this also and want to hear more.
    Hi pot/meggers are for checking insulation,right?
    What is the procedure?How will you connect,ect..

Geez,you're scarin me

Originally posted by november04
    This is one of Q.C factory test report items that should be done by electrical dep.All questions are just about electrical panel,e.g.:is the wiring of panel according to electrical wiring diagram?all wiring are tight?is hi-pot test done on panel?is it cleaned and vaccumed,...and to pass the Q.C test,panel shoul meet all listed requirements.I look forward to hearing from u guys and appreciate it.
    November04,