Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41

    Kamstrup Multical 601 Mbus telegram

    Hi,

    I'm trying to connect Kamstrup Multical 601 with base module (mbus) trough PXC-00U, but there is something wrong with telegram.
    It appears like it's not complete. I'm testing with relay.de's mbconf software from my laptop and always got the same result, all other meters working ok.

    The telegram:

    TX-Buffer:
    10 7B 0E 89 16
    RX-Buffer:

    Error data:
    68 F7 F7 68 08 0E 72 65 41 75 06 2D 2C 07 04 06 00 00 00 0C 78 65 41 75 06 04 07 08 30 00 00 04 15 D0 BD 01 00 04 22 57 0C 00 00 04 59 3E 1C 00 00 04 5D 19 18 00 00 04 61 25 04 00 00 04 2D 36 0C 00 00 14 2D 96 1C 00 00 04 3B C8 64 00 00 14 3B FC 78 00 00 84 10 07 00 00 00 00 84 20 07 00 00 00 00 84 40 15 00 00 00 00 84 80 40 15 00 00 00 00 84 C0 40 07 00 00 00 00 04 6D 0C 2B 48 1B 44 07 00 00 00 00 44 15 00 00 00 00 54 2D 00 00 00 00 54 3B 00 00 00 00 C4 10 07 00 00 00 00 C4 20 07 00 00 00 00 C4 40 15 00 00 00 00 C4 80 40 15 00 00 00 00 C4 C0 40 07 00 00 00 00 42 6C 00 00 0F 00 00 00 00 CC 6B 01 00 91 41 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 C0 FE

    The beginning is ok, but there is the missing 16 at the end and the program just say's "frame error". Any idea?

    Thanks, Z

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Were you ever able to obtain a resolution to this particular problem? I realize this is an old post but, we are looking at some Kamstup 601 meters and experiencing something similar. Let me know thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41
    According to our tech support Kamstrup sometimes use telegram encoding. You can only replace it with something like UH50 or similar.
    Or get access to decoding algorithm.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,453
    Quote Originally Posted by zlotvor View Post
    10 7B 0E 89 16
    Cas Modbus RTU Parser says ...

    Frame Analysis (10 7B 0E 89 16)
    --------------
    Error #0007
    The checksum is invalid. Actual=0x8916 Required=0xd331
    The frame has errors but there may be sufficient information to analyse the message.
    . We do not support analysis of of some functions in this version of the application. Function code=123(dec)=0x7b
    No further analysis is possible.

    but also says this ...

    Frame Analysis (10 7B 0E d3 31)
    --------------
    <Warning #0005
    Function=123(decimal)=0x7b

    Function is not part of the standard. This message cannot be parsed.
    The frame is not a Valid Modbus RTU Frame. Its contents cannot be analysed.
    An example of an invalid frame is one that doesnt have enough bytes to form a full message.
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,453
    oh ...mBus...not modbus...oops
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    oh ...mBus...not modbus...oops
    As you say'd, ooops. This is M-Bus (Meter Bus), not ModBus ;-) Modbus is easy, I "speak" modbus, and I also "speak" m-bus, but this "dialect" is unknown to me. And at the time I posted the question (same now) I have no access to equipment that can decode this (OP).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by zlotvor View Post
    As you say'd, ooops. This is M-Bus (Meter Bus), not ModBus ;-) Modbus is easy, I "speak" modbus, and I also "speak" m-bus, but this "dialect" is unknown to me. And at the time I posted the question (same now) I have no access to equipment that can decode this (OP).
    Maybe you can help answer a few questions that are perplexing our tech dept

    What settings do you typically set up the M-Bus application module to monitor energy consumption? i.e for a specific Kamstuct MultiCal 601 that is monitoring a multi-unit complex?

    What are the typical port settings?

    What address is at 0 or 1 ? In the In the parameters for serial communication for the COM databit, stopbit, etc
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by prioritypete View Post
    Maybe you can help answer a few questions that are perplexing our tech dept

    What settings do you typically set up the M-Bus application module to monitor energy consumption? i.e for a specific Kamstuct MultiCal 601 that is monitoring a multi-unit complex?

    What are the typical port settings?

    What address is at 0 or 1 ? In the In the parameters for serial communication for the COM databit, stopbit, etc
    Hi,

    Can you please post a better screenshot? I can't see anything from this one. Select the program window and press Ctrl+Alt+PrtScr (that will screenshot only the program window) and upload it somewhere, then post the link here.
    Btw, the program you are using is limited to primary address 1 if not registered ($$$).

    The readout can depend on the medium (hot/cold), the size of the meter and some other parameters.
    Standard comm. parameters are 2400, 8,E,1

    br, Z

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by zlotvor View Post
    Hi,

    Can you please post a better screenshot? I can't see anything from this one. Select the program window and press Ctrl+Alt+PrtScr (that will screenshot only the program window) and upload it somewhere, then post the link here.
    Btw, the program you are using is limited to primary address 1 if not registered ($$$).

    The readout can depend on the medium (hot/cold), the size of the meter and some other parameters.
    Standard comm. parameters are 2400, 8,E,1

    br, Z


    Sorry about that here is a link to the image. This is the version I used.

    http://i1275.photobucket.com/albums/...screenshot.jpg

    This is another version. Which is better?

    http://i1275.photobucket.com/albums/...b_sheet_v2.jpg


    Details:

    400 Kamstrup Multical 601 heat meters. Base module

    This is the the website used to aquire the version of M-Bus used.
    The demo version.

    http://www.michaelrac.com/download.php

    I will buy the registered version if I can sucessfully interface using this.

    The other option available is: http://www.relay.de/frame_3fach_e.htm
    Last edited by prioritypete; 10-29-2012 at 05:11 PM. Reason: image link had pop up - sorry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41
    Forget about Rac's software, in demo mode it's just unusable. I'd recommend you the MBsheet/MBconf pair. It say DEMO, but in reality only the comfort features are disabled.

    Try to search with MBsheet - "scan ID" feature. Leave everything default, except the port - select one you are connecting to. It will list everything MBus that is connected. Then right click on listed device and select "Read device" and post here the content of log window (click in it, Ctrl+A, Ctrl+C and then Ctrl+V here).

    For single device commissioning I'm using this: http://www.relay.de/MikroMaster_e.htm - Can power up to three standard devices. For permanent installations we are using PW20, PW60 and Digital-Master DR005 for really large installations (up to 250 devices).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    So the tools being used are:

    R232 to USB

    Console GUI being used:

    MBsheet on default setting with a choice of our port.

    Mango automation what are the recommended settings?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    HR
    Posts
    41
    Did you manage to get any data? I can check this personally if you can provide remote access (teamviewer or similar), my time is GMT+2

    I'm not familiar with Mango, so in that one you should find somebody else. I'm mostly in Siemens Desigo, KNX and metering.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    That would be absolutely awesome! We usually use Log me in for secure remote access of off site locations. I can send you the credentials if you would be so kind as to send me an email at p e t e r s (at) p r i o r i t y m e t e r . c o m

    Please remove the spaces and replace the (at) with @

    Thanks so much!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image