Something to talk about.....
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,005

    I was over an hour from home and all the supply shops were closed when I discovered a 7 year old Goodman with a bad condenser fan motor. It was a 1/5 HP and the closest I had was a 1/4 HP of the same speed so installed it. It's drawing .2 amp more than the OEM motor and I don't plan on going back to change it out later.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Gone
    Posts
    5,340
    This is what happens when you leave the old capacitor in, especially when it is mismatched.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    35,838
    It's a Gooman.........who cares...............
    I done lots worse than that and lived to tell about it.
    At least I think I am alive, you guys ARE real.......aren't you???
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    d00d, what a HACK!


    Seriously though, if the amp draw isn't higher than the new motor is rated for, I really don't see there being a problem going from 1/5 to 1/4 hp.

    Heh, I was out of 1/3 hp 240v blower motors today and needed one for a call. I was sooooo tempted to stick a 1/2 in it and be done, but the only thing I hate more than having to go to the supply house for someting I forgot to restock on my truck is getting an emergency call at midnight for something under warranty.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    35,838
    I been upsizing motors for 30 years, they work better.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Originally posted by Diceman
    I been upsizing motors for 30 years, they work better.
    Hey, put a 1/2hp on every condensor and a 3/4hp on every blower, really cuts down on storrage space requirements.

    Hmmmm, I could replace the 19 different motors on my truck with 3!

    Another benefit would be that I could go from driving around with 23 total motors to only like 6 total motors, probably increase my gas milage...
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Was there a question, or just a proud rookie statement being made????????????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,005

    I threw you a bone here. Sorry you didn't catch it.


    Just incase you needed something or someone to talk about. I was assuming that no one else would admit to ever having changed a part with other than the original. So let me add this.. I do not have anything lower than 1/4 HP in my inventory. Sometimes I replace a single pole contactor with a double pole and use a number 10 wire to jumper the contacts on one side.

    This is the best that I have until I have time to upload some photos.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Colorado flatland native
    Posts
    15,067

    Why even jumper them?

    ?
    My doctor gave me six months to live, but when I couldn't pay the bill he gave me six months more.
    Walter Matthau

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event