Thread: SO2 systems

HI THERE, I'M NEW TO THIS DISCUSSION BOARD, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE THERE IS AN ABUNDENCE OF KNOWLEDGE HERE.

I AM A REFRIGERATION TECH, TURNED REFRIGERATION WHOLESALER.
    I WORK ON ANTIQUE FRIDGES AS A HOBBY AND HAVE A RETROFIT QUESTION.

WHAT IS REQUIRED TO CHANGE AN OLD FRIGIDIARE OPEN-DRIVE FROM SO2 TO R12/?.

I HAVE HAD SOME LOVELY EXPERIENCES DISCHARGING SO2 (HA,HA) IN THE PAST, AND HAVE A GOOD SYSTEM IN PLACE FOR THAT NOW.
    I JUST DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE SHOULD BE AJUSTED ie FLOAT.

I HAVE DONE QUITE A BIT OF OLD FRIDGE REPAIR SO IF ANYONE HAS ANY QUESTIONS, JUST ASK.

GORD
    Be Careful, The Toes You Step On Today May Be Conected To The A$$ You Have To Kiss Tomorrow.

Coolclassics.........

Welcome to the site fellow frigie.

First, as a matter of housekeeping please turn off the caplocks.....it's like shouting on line and my ears hurt.

The SO2 really caught my eye. I remember my father converting an old Frigidaire 2-door reach-in from sulfur to R12 back in the late fifties. I was really too young to understand what was what at the time but later discussions brought out the changeover was really quite easy. He dumped the SO2 through a 1/4" line to the outdoors, installed a filter-drier, purged and charged. (Vacuum pumps weren't a big deal with the old belt drives)

The low-side floats always were a PIA and would tend to stick at times as I recall. I suppose if you're real enterprising, you could try to tear it apart, clean and rebuild it. Don't expect to get any parts or gaskets for it. I don't think they would require any adjustment though.

I would change the shaft seal and the oil in the compressor, install a filter and go with it.

Best of luck.